What's Up From The ecoTrain Community! S2#6: Sustainable Holistic Living

What's Up Everyone! This weeks curation brings together posts with two main themes. An important theme that we are highlighting right now is positive mental health, and there are a few inspiring and beautiful posts from you this week. Growing our own food, and gardening in general is also one of our pet themes. Not only can we harvest beautiful healthy food, but gardening is also one of the most beneficial activities to reduce stress and connect with nature. Now with COVID food scarcity is a real issue so there is no better time to start growing something, however simple.

Thank you to EVERYONE who has posted this week to the ecoTrain community. Its great to see the diversity of people, posts and topics that we all cover. Its all just the kind of thing we are about! Keep it coming everyone!

This Weeks 10% Beneficiaries

This weeks beneficiaries are those posts that I think are most undervalued or were in one way or another special. SO thank you and congratulations to @steemmatt for your great post and continued posting on your recycling endeavours. Matt seems to have a knack for finding discarded items and making them good for a profit.

Thanks also to @orlev for his continued posts on more esoteric themes. He is currently posting on 3speak with his Discomfort Zone series. These are great podcasts with a lot of interesting material that orlev covers very slowly and methodically. Great work @orlev thank you!

@deepresearch wrote a post about a great APP that we can use to help clean up trash using a crowd sourced, global litter picking database. Very nice and worth a bonus for sharing an app with such positive uses.

This weeks hand-picked posts

@solominer

Mothers day bouquet

Today I put together some flowers that have bloomed and some that have not opened yet. Many plants were picked and I gathered them for a nice gift to my mother for this special day. Some of the flowers gathered are from kale, geranium, onion, jasmine, roses and others. They were all blooming this month and seemed like a perfect fit for a vase, many of them were just starting to open and made for the perfect flower gift.


@mrarhat

Happiness is a choice and not a result.

Happiness, we are willing to do anything to get this thing. But not everyone finds happiness in one thing. Many of us think that money is the key to happiness. But not in all cases. For many, money is happiness, while for others, happiness is found in helping someone, etc. Everyone tries to get happiness in different ways. If I speak for myself, I try to find happiness in my work. Like I am a civil engineer. I find happiness in doing new things, designing, working with new designs.

This is why today I am writing about this topic that Happiness is a choice. This is something I strongly believe. Because to me, work is happiness. I can be with a lot of people if I'm involved in work. I can learn a lot.


@steemflow

Garden Journal Update : Terrace Farming in Pandemic

Hello Everyone,

Today is the 9th day of isolation. While I am getting bored and trying to spend quality times through different means.

Now I came up by doing some terrace Gardening. Last few days, there were some rains. As I am staying isolated on top floor, I grab the opportunity to plant few veggies. I asked my neighbour for few sampling and yesterday I sowed them on one corner of the terrace.

Here is a sneak peak of my terrace gardening. The best way to make most of tge pandemic time. I hope you will enjoy the short video.

▶️ DTube

▶️ IPFS


@flemingfarm

Irrigation, Weeding, Fire - Friday

The day was a bit funky. I woke up early to see the black clouds moving east and a light sprinkle on the deck before the sun came popping out from behind the storm. The rest of the morning the clouds were rolling past as the system continued to push through. As I headed up to start working on the irrigation in the cool garden I noticed the Pixwell Gooseberries have started to pop. Little berries are growing al over them and should give us a nice harvest this year.


@steemmatt

11 Smaller Salvaged Curbside Recycling Items Resold For $391

When waiting for larger items to sell, smaller items add up fast, or they simply keep me moving forward — a good thing.

When something’s small (low storage), and light (cheap shipping), I can’t say no. Realistically, nor should I, unless they’re not in demand.

Generally, when I find something that’s too big to take, or if it’s damaged/incomplete, I’ll strip parts. If the item is big, I’ll do this on the curbs. If I can carry it, I’ll do it at home so I don’t damage anything. Most parts can be decently valuable if I choose the right ones. However, sometimes I take some smaller parts since I’m already at work with the screwdriver, or because they’re super easy to retrieve.

Without further delay, here are 11 smaller items I’ve salvaged and sold, getting a little more creative... but not my best work by any means.


@olastickz
Sorry I missed this QOTW post in the tie up @olastickz so here it is!

ACCOMPLISHING STRONG BELIEVES



I just wanted to make review on the question of the week by ecotrain which was titled IS LIFE FAIR and my reason for talking about this is because I read some content and comments of people yesterday, I realized many people have reason why life as been unfair based on how things had turned bad for them. See many of us might be going through a lot and facing serious challenges that could make loss focus on accomplishing our main goals but the only way to change that way of
thinking is having a strong believe in yourself.


@deepresearch

Nature and technology. How mobile app, AI and crowdsourcing might solve the problem of littering?

I used to see technology development as a force correlated with nature degradation. The more we merge with technology, the more we are disconnected from the nature. It's easy to fall for the traps of shining screens. It's also easy to fall for the trap of solutionism. Personally, I don't believe in the fairy tale of technology tackling all problems of cancer-like growing civilization. Most general issues are beyond left-brain problem solving modality of thinking, explored by scientists and technologists. Not talking about the fact that what could be solved by technology, very seldom turn out to be profitable for any singular entity.

However, sometimes the situation is kind of opposite. With growth of digital networks, communication technologies and big data processing new ways of dealing with problems are unfolding. Global cooperation on the large scale became possible, and social networks might be so much more than vanity fuelling echo chambers. The key to success is the network effect.


@adetorrent

Nature is better at gardening than we are 🌱

This is my third spring gardening outside. I decided to get into growing some of my own edibles starting with fruits; berries mainly, and vegetables. I had been growing flowers in flower pots indoors prior to that, but I figured it wouldn't take that much more effort to grow food instead. I used to have a tiny little farm when I was very young. I grew yam, maize, leafy vegetables and tomatoes. The land was so fertile, however, so I put absolutely zero effort into it. I basically put the stuff in the ground and it grew. I still remember the pride I felt when we had my yam for breakfast after my first harvest.

I have learnt quite a lot about gardening in the last three years. The first year was a complete disaster due to the weather issue. It wasn't just me, it was a lot of people. I remember seeing things in the news about the lack of rainfall and high temperatures affecting harvest that year. Last year's harvest happened in lockdown which meant I had a lot of time to tend to the plants. The weather was also pretty great.


@orlev

E#59 Gerald Clarke - DZP

Hello to all my fabulous listeners!
I'm very excited to announce the first episode of our brand new series about Gerald Clarke, and his book 'The Anunnaki of Nibiru: Mankind's Forgotten Creators, Enslavers, Saviors, and Hidden Architects of the New World Order'. This book was seminal in my own personal journey into humanity's secret history, and I am so happy to finally be able to share it with you!
If you enjoy listening to the show, you can really help by sharing it with people you think might like it. I'm happy to say the show's audience is growing every day, and sharing with others really helps support the show.

▶️ 3Speak


ECOTRAIN SUPPORTS

Facilitating off-grid sustainable living, local trade & commerce!
ecoVillages is a new paradigm in self sufficient building and living, based on empowered groups that live off-grid with little to no bills or debt using earthship biotecture. What lies at the core of ecoVillages is that it is a model that embraces decentralisation in every way. We make sure every aspect of life is as close to home as possible, and under an individual’s control!

Our primary goal is to facilitate others to build and live in the most sustainable way using earthship biotecture, to provide a lifetime of self sufficiency with almost no ongoing bills and maintenance. Our model begins in rural areas with a lot of land available at low cost. Our model is decentralised and so homes will be spread out with each person or collective owning their land outright, but are a part of a strong and supportive community.

MORE INFO AT:
https://www.ecovillages.io

CONTACT
@eco-alex



The 8 Pillars of Abundance Tribe

@ecoTrain

Supporting People Who Help
Make The World A Better Place

** Click Here To View Our Community Page **
** Click Here To View Our Blog Page **

 

CLICK HERE TO SUBSCRIBE TO THE ECOTRAIN COMMUNITY

 

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency