ecoTrain Question Of The Week Tie Up Post 5.5: My food gardening tips!

QOTWTIEUP2020.jpg

Welcome to another belated tie up post! Its fair to say that this past few weeks has seen such incredible progress with the ecoVillages project that i have barely been able to check my mail and keep u with my online fun! That is soon to change with some great updates on ecoVillages coming very soon! If you have been watching this project, i hope to be able to announce a very special workshop and learning opportunity. Lets see how it goes with COVID, it is possible that this may be restricted to people in Portugal but who knows how the lockdown will pan out over the coming months.


SO! Thank you to all who posted on this weeks question. I think my timing may have been a bit off for some, with several inches of snow falling over much of northern Europe right now. I hope you are all keeping warm, and managing to make the most of this inside time Very soon, of course, the sun will return and it will be time to start planting seeds. Now we have land here in Portugal, I am eager to start making some new beds and being growing our own herbs, veggies, and spices.

I have gifted most posts, which is such a nice and easy way to thank you. I intend to gift more Hive in the coming weeks, and as the price of Hive rises it is a gift that can keep giving :)

Oh also, im going to open this weeks upcoming QOTW to all of you! IF you have a question you would like to ask us all please share it in the comments. I will choose one that I like and post it for next weeks question! If there isn’t a question then I will of course post one of my own. I have to say, the answers we get are usually so wonderful that this really is a great opportunity to see what others think about something important to you. It could be Anything!

 

@thebigsweed

Over the years of growing food gardens, we have learned so much from one year to the next. 40 some years ago, @farm-mom and I cleared a small plot of land in our back yard for our first foray in growing vegetables. As with all beginners, we had a lot to learn, and harvest time spelled that out very clearly.

The one thing that we were very sure of from the very beginning was that there would be no herbicides, pesticides, fungicides or chemical fertilizers, used in the process.

Over the years, our garden has grown along with our knowledge.
Since retiring, what started out as a hobby has now become a passion of ours.

Our goal these days is to put into storage enough produce to take us from one harvest to the next. In order for that to happen, we realized we needed to increase the volume of produce without having to establish a lot of new plots.


@kawsar8035

As our world modernizes, we are moving away from food gardening.But no matter how modern the world? The need for food gardening is immense for our survival. Anyway I like this week’s question of @ecotrain quite a bit and I got a chance to share my opinion. Special thanks to the #ecoTraincommunity for that.

With the modernization of the world, crop lands are declining as the environment is getting polluted. Moreover, people are turning away from agriculture. Many people in our country neglect agriculture. But all the work of the world is honorable. Moreover, our survival depends a lot on agriculture. Anyway today I will share with you my food gardening tips. I hope you like my gardening tips.

@olivia08

I had been away for a while in writing stories and blogs. I was too busy for almost three months because of the wedding here. Time was not enough and didn't know anything except for my singing and post it in dapplr. It is the way how I posted and being active every day in the hive.

By the way, it was all over and it's time to give support to the @ecotrain question of the week again.

Successful gardening in the desert land

I and my employer's family transferred to this big house 12 or 13 years ago.

I requested my boss to give me a vacant space me too. plant flowers and vegetables. Then they stopped the laborers who put the tiles on the ground.


@nainaztengra

Gardening was not something that I was always into, but in the last couple of years I have developed a lot of liking towards gardening, specially growing some of my own food. As of now I have bitter gourd, garlic, tomatoes, mint and aloe growing in my garden. Very soon the climate will change and garlic will stop and I will have to figure out what next.

But trust me it is such a fulfilling experience see your plants bloom and giving you what you have sowed. To be very honest, I have a helper and she has good knowledge of plants and that's what gives me the courage to go ahead. Else in the past I have seen my plants all dying out. Now with her guidance I am able to grow my food successfully. My mom jokingly says very soon I will become vegetable vendor....hehehe

@thebigsweed

Over the years of growing food gardens, we have learned so much from one year to the next. 40 some years ago, @farm-mom and I cleared a small plot of land in our back yard for our first foray in growing vegetables. As with all beginners, we had a lot to learn, and harvest time spelled that out very clearly.

The one thing that we were very sure of from the very beginning was that there would be no herbicides, pesticides, fungicides or chemical fertilizers, used in the process.

Over the years, our garden has grown along with our knowledge.
Since retiring, what started out as a hobby has now become a passion of ours.

Our goal these days is to put into storage enough produce to take us from one harvest to the next. In order for that to happen, we realized we needed to increase the volume of produce without having to establish a lot of new plots.

Compost has proven to be a real winner in helping us increase how much bounty we get from our gardens.

@thisismylife

It's like the universe is trying to tell me something

I've spoken about wanting to grow our own food before, and still can't wait until we move to a house with a garden to have more options to do so. BUT we must not forget that we have a huge terrace currently as well and we can take advantage of this. During winter, I kind of forgot about the need to grow our own food, as the door to the terrace is mostly closed anyway, and I don't fancy taking care of stuff in the cold (just being honest here). But, the weather has taken a turn to spring-ish weather now (it may be temporarily but who cares lol) and this is lightening up my mood a lot.
I haven't written anything for a full week until yesterday, and it was actually the sun that got me back into the writing spirit.

 

CHECK OUT OUR PREVIOUS QUESTION OF THE WEEK

SEASON 5

What would you like to see happen to our city spaces?
/@ecotrain/ecotrain-question-of-the-week-5-4-tie-up-post-what-would-you-like-to-see-happen-to-our-city-spaces

THINGS WE CAN DO TO PREPARE FOR INDEFINITE LOCKDOWNS
/@ecotrain/ecotrain-question-of-the-week-5-2tie-up-post-things-we-can-do-to-prepare-for-indefinite-lockdowns

It's a Secret, But is it good to have secrets?
/@ecotrain/ecotrain-question-of-the-week-season-5-1tie-up-post-it-s-a-secret-but-is-it-good-to-have-secrets

SEASON 4

In what ways can blockchain and cryptocurrency help the people of this world?
@ecotrain/ecotrain-question-of-the-week-27-tie-up-post-in-what-ways-can-blockchain-and-cryptocurrency-help-the-people-of-this-world

Name 5 positive consequences of COVID19?

@ecotrain/ecotrain-question-of-the-week-tie-up-post-26-name-5-positive-consequences-of-covid19

In what ways is living off grid the answer to the many consequences of coronavirus?
@ecotrain/ecotrain-question-of-the-week-25-tie-up-post-in-what-ways-is-living-off-grid-the-answer-to-the-many-consequences-of-coronavirus

SHINE LIGHT ON MENTAL HEALTH ISSUES
@ecotrain/ecotrain-question-of-the-week-tie-up-24-shine-light-on-mental-health-issues

If you could choose, what would you incarnate as in your next life?
@ecotrain/ecotrain-question-of-the-week-22-tie-up-post-if-you-could-choose-what-would-you-incarnate-as-in-your-next-life

My Spiritual Experiences

@ecotrain/ecotrain-question-of-the-week-tie-up-post-my-spiritual-experiences

What is is about music?
@ecotrain/ecotrain-question-of-the-week-20-launch-post-what-is-is-about-music

What are you addicted to and how does it help or hinder you?

@ecotrain/ecotrain-question-of-the-week-tie-up-post-what-are-you-addicted-to-and-how-does-it-help-or-hinder-you

What can we do differently so that people can understand us better?
@ecotrain/an-impromtu-ecotrain-question-of-the-week-what-can-we-do-differently-so-that-people-can-understand-us-better

What is intimacy to you? Do you need it to be happy?
@ecotrain/ecotrain-question-of-the-week-tie-up-post-what-is-intimacy-to-you-do-you-need-it-to-be-happy

Why do we fall in love with certain people and why it is so hard to get over someone?
@ecotrain/ecotrain-question-of-the-week-15-why-do-we-fall-in-love-with-certain-people-and-why-it-is-so-hard-to-get-over-someone

What is the biggest question or mystery in your life that until now you haven't had the answer to?
https://peakd.com/publish?edit=ecotrain%2Fecotrain-question-of-the-week-14-what-is-the-biggest-question-or-mystery-in-your-life-that-until-now-you-haven-t-had-the-answer

Observation vs Judgement: Do you know the difference?
@ecotrain/question-of-the-week-tie-up-post-13-observation-vs-judgement-do-you-know-the-difference

Share a lesson you've learned in life
@ecotrain/ecotrain-question-of-the-week-12-share-a-lesson-you-ve-learned-in-life

Are You A 'Hugger Or A Shrugger' In These Pandemic Times?
@ecotrain/ecotrain-question-of-the-week-tie-up-post-are-you-a-hugger-or-a-shrugger-in-these-pandemic-times

How do you deal with monsters? How tolerant are you?
@ecotrain/ecotrain-question-of-the-week-tie-up-post-how-do-you-deal-with-monsters-how-tolerant-are-you

Shifting Our Perspective ... Spare A Thought For....
@ecotrain/ecotrain-qotw-9-tie-up-shifting-our-perspective-spare-a-thought-for

THANK YOU!!! QUESTION OF THE WEEK TIE UP POST: IF IT SOUNDS TOO GOOD TO BE TRUE, IT PROBABLY ISN'T?.
@ecotrain/thank-you-question-of-the-week-tie-up-post-if-its-sound-too-good-to-be-true-it-probably-isn-t

What is Inner Strength? How do you find it?
@ecotrain/question-of-the-week-tie-up-post-what-is-inner-strength-how-do-you-find-it

What is my hole in the bucket?
@ecotrain/ecotrain-tie-up-post-what-is-my-hole-in-the-bucket

DO WE STILL HAVE FREEDOM OF SPEECH?
@ecotrain/ecotrain-tie-up-post-do-we-still-have-freedom-of-speech

Should our governments lie to us to protect us?
@ecotrain/ecotrain-qotw-tie-up-post-should-our-governments-lie-to-us

What changes would you like to see happen after Covid19
@ecotrain/ecotrain-qotw-tie-up-post-what-changes-would-you-like-to-see-happen-after-covid19

What are you doing to create memories...
@ecotrain/ecotrain-qotw-tie-up-post-q8wsuw

What I Am Doing, To Stay Balanced and Positive Whilst on Lockdown
@ecotrain/ecotrain-qotw-tie-up-post

If your were to meet with a wise person/sage what sort of questions would you ask?"
@ecotrain/ecotrain-qotw-tie-up-post-if-your-were-to-meet-with-a-wise-person-sage-what-sort-of-questions-would-you-ask

Are you worried about Coronavirus, and what are you doing differently (if anything) since you heard about it?"
@ecotrain/ecotrain-qotw-tie-up-post-are-you-worried-about-coronavirus-and-what-are-you-doing-differently-if-anything-since-you-heard-about


The 8 Pillars of Abundance Tribe

@ecoTrain

Supporting People Who Help
Make The World A Better Place

** Click Here To View Our Community Page **
** Click Here To View Our Blog Page **

CLICK HERE TO SUBSCRIBE TO THE ECOTRAIN COMMUNITY

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency