ecoTrain Community Curation 1: HOLISTIC INTEGRATED LIVING

GEMS-OF-ECOTRAIN-2021c.jpg

Welcome to a brand new curation for the ecoTrain community! I haven’t made any curation posts in a couple of months!... but now that the project i was doing is cancelled i have a lot more time on my hands.. Also i have to say things have been getting busy with so many newcomers to the community and many of our old timers who continue to post and share inspiring and often uplifting content. Thank you to everyone who posts to the ecoTrain community. We are a beautiful little niche on Hive, with so much passion and love and wisdom to share. Its always my pleasure to host the Question Of The Week, and this week i can hardly keep up with over 50 people posting! You guys are all awesome and you make us what we are today, so thank you for joining us and keeping it real!

So i have decided to choose a handful of posts rather than try to share too many in one go. I think there are always those few posts that stand out and really share something special. Its not so much what you post but how you post it and what feeling and passion you put into your writings and videos. We generally focus on topics that are related to our core motto of "Together Making This World A Better Place", and that includes topics such as "Sustainability, ecoVillages, Community, Self-sufficiency, Off-grid Living, Homesteading, Permaculture, Alternative Energy, Alternative Lifestyle, Natural Health, Cooking, Eco-building, Earthships, Recycling, Esoteric, Inner Transformation, Spiritual, Nature".

So i hope you enjoy this weeks Curation posts. I like to cover a few topics so that there is something for everyone.. If you are interested to meet some great bloggers then look no further, and don’t forget to hit the follow button on the people you like!

@thebigsweed

IT'S BEEN ONE HELL OF A HAY SEASON

Where would we be today if it were not for Uncle Louie? Who is Uncle Louie, you ask, he's @farm-mom's uncle. He always held a special place in his heart for his niece Robin, and who can blame him, she's a rare gem.
Back in 1980, he turned us onto a piece of land that went up for sale. Within a week's time, we were the proud owners of our farm, and having Uncle Louie living up the road a piece was an added bonus.

The rock that you see in this first picture was given to him some ten years earlier and I've got a feeling that it will be there for years to come. Despite his passing away on November 6, 2017, which just happens to be my birthday, his FAMILY FARM remains intact.

The farm that he left behind is truly a family farm, maintained by his eight children.
At the helm of this operation is one of his daughters. About ten years ago, she built a house, on an adjacent piece of land. Being that she was now his next store neighbor, she became his right-hand lady. To this day, she continues to carry on many of the activities that he so enjoyed.

READ MORE

@josediccus

Focusing On Frailties (A Unusual Ranting)

One thing about me is that I'm painstakingly detailing. I have the nose for details, I have this addiction to achieve perfection or at least try to get there. At my earliest stages in life I was surrounded by people who felt I could specifically ammout to nothing, due to so many conditioning that revolved around my life, so while many were particularly being pushed, encouraged and motivated by the people around them.

I was constantly being reminded of my frailties by the people around me and I spent a long while of life, attempting to prove others wrong. One of the biggest burdens in life is trying to prove that you're valuable and not worthless, especially to people who had already formed a mindset about what and who you are.

This was why I was dogged about details, a little of detail could change the appearance of something. I took every feedback about my life rather seriously and due to listening to so many feedbacks, I became immune to pain, they already shattered me. I lived by many clichés, and one of them was that "you can't bring down a man that's already down"

@samstonehill

Making wine from grapes (the right way this time)

We have finally arrived at a very special time of year here in the South of France when there are so many fruits, nuts & berries all around us which can be easily harvested and turned into something even better. Grapes into wine being the most obvious example of this.

Last year I made mixed fruit wine & cider using a self-created contraption involving a modified kid's bucket and a secondary container to prevent air from getting in (while permitting the fermenting fruit to release its CO2).

It worked great for the cider but not so much for the wine which was pretty strong but tasted a bit strange. This year I am determined not only to get it right but also to produce enough bottles to be able to give a bunch of them away!

READ MORE

@mrnightmare89

In my Treehouse

This post will not be about walking because I was busy building my treehouse. I didn't have the time to share my walk but I still want to participate in #wednesdaywalk by @tattoodjay. But for sure I will make you smile like what @elizacheng said in her #makemesmile. Since I can't share with you about walking, how about showing you my simple treehouse? I'm not sure if it will please you but I'm happy with this. Bear with me this time because it's about me for now.

Have you seen the popular traditional house named "Bahay Kubo" in our country, the Philippines? Where it was made from a nipa hut and bamboo tree? Well, if you haven't seen one and if you're curious. My treehouse copied "Bahay Kubo" but the only difference is the location. Of course, it's on the tree since I called it treehouse, lol.


The foundation of it or the poste of it was a piece of wood. You can't see concrete material because that's how a "Bahay Kubo" should be. Okay, I know I don't have enough money to build a wonderful one that you saw wherever you are. Like those tall establishments and fancy houses. Actually, it's not about the money but it's about what kind of house I wanted to be in and it's obvious this is what I want.

READ MORE

@emiliomoron

Why do we need regenerative tourism?

Greetings dear friends.

I believe that traveling is an activity that we all love, the desire to know the world around us leads us to visit the beaches of our region, the biodiversity of its parks and to know the cultural legacy of our country, and can also lead us to cross to another part of the world to know the nature, history or culture of other countries.

Not surprisingly, tourism is a very important economic activity for any country, but like other economic activities, the tourism industry has a great impact on the environment. Apart from the pandemic situation, every year millions of people move from one part of the planet to another, attracted especially by the natural and cultural wealth of other countries.

But this mobilization represents a burden for the environment, sometimes very difficult to bear, I remember once when I visited a very popular small island in a park in my state, when it was time to leave the place, the beach was covered with garbage, many of the tourists left without even lifting the garbage they had generated from the sand, And to my astonishment, in the only garbage deposit located on the island where I went to place my garbage, one of the food service providers of the place lit the container on fire to incinerate the garbage inside, right there, in the open, in that small and beautiful place of the Caribbean.

READ MORE

@seckorama

A New Opportunity On The Horizon

Yesterday I was visiting the field of a good friend of mine who, due to a confluence of situations, has decided to change the way he has been living and take a new and different path. Health was key to his decision.

However, since he is also an entrepreneur, he decided on a new opportunity. It has taken a long time to get all the permits that are necessary for something like this.

It's true that public and especially political attitudes are slowly changing and it will take some time (at least here) for such products to become commonplace (if it ever does?), but the first step has been taken.

Is it ganja? No, no, it's first-class cannabis, carefully sown and tended outside in the field, with all the necessary permits.
In short, this field planted with cannabis is perfectly legal.

READ MORE

@flemingfarm

Rain, Spokane Freedom Exchange, 4000 Pounds Picked - Saturday

After the melee of trying to get the farm ready for it the rains hit and gave us .22 inches of rain. The entire region needs it so badly and nicely this morning the ground is still damp looking and the trees have a much cleaner look to them. It is only a slight dent in what we need but anything helps at this point.

We managed to get ourselves out the door by 9:30 and into Spokane by 10 to setup at the [ark for the exchange. I brought my 3 different seeds, cucumbers, we brought fiber, liberty coin rings, White Rose stickers, and some samples of the beets and melon. It was a great couple hours hanging at the park. We got to see old friends we haven't seen in years, met new people who are part of the freedom movement, and I got to sell some of my seeds and cucumbers. The boys were with us and J spent a good amount of time snagging seed packets from the table to go barter with at the other tables. People can't resist kids learning to barter but he didn't do bad and didn't "underpay" for any of his trades. We stayed until noon before packing up and heading back to the farm.

READ MORE


The 8 Pillars of Abundance Tribe

@ecoTrain

Supporting People Who Help
Make The World A Better Place

** Click Here To View Our Community Page **

CLICK HERE TO SUBSCRIBE TO THE ECOTRAIN COMMUNITY


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments
Ecency