Compost time again! Preparing the materials.

What the hell am I doing with my life? Why is it I feel compelled to make compost in lieu of not doing trade shows in Vegas? I feel more human and connected to nature than I have in a long time. I do not want to die thinking hmmm what if I actually did what I loved and not slaving for a cold blooded machine called Plutocracy...


Source

No seriously, I do not know what I am doing. Just scary. I am scared shitless to be honest. I am chasing a dream, a dream I have had for a long time. I wanted to learn this science and I think I am doing just that. Will it get me any where past a job at the Lowe's Garden center?


Source

Anyways, breathe, compost, rave, repeat...

Today was a day spent gathering compost materials and soaking/ re-hydrating them for tomorrow's compost pile. This is my second attempt at making Bio-Complete compost. I failed at my last attempt due to reasons I learned from and can over come I think. I need to make two successful compost piles in succession of each other in order to get a compost certificate.

This way of composting is about achieving a compost that is biologically complete with aerobic soil food web organisms that will help with nutrient cycling due to predator/prey reactions and replenishing important organisms like fungi.

For the compost pile I am making I will use 16% High Nitrogen, 31% Regular Nitrogen and around 53% carbon materials.

Using 5 gallon buckets, I stuffed all the materials as tight as possible in. This way I could also approximately sort out the proper ratios needed for my Carbon, High N and Regular N needs.

High Nitrogen Materials

I will use Five 5 Gallon buckets of Fresh Horse Manure (covered for good reason) and Two 5 Gallon buckets of alfalfa for my High N.

Regular Nitrogen

I am using Nine 5 Gallon buckets of Timothy Hay, Three 5 Gallon buckets of grass clippings and One 5 gallon bucket of mature green kale leaves for my Regular N.

Carbon

I am using Ten 5 Gallon buckets of White Birch woodchips and Twelve 5 Gallon buckets of Wheat Straw.


I am allowing these materials to soak in water over night, except for the horse manure. Lids are important!


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
24 Comments
Ecency