Day 33 of self-isolation: repurposed chicken brooder, furlough, providence

I originally intended this series to be a daily log. Going to into self-isolation, I didn't realize how hard I would working to take care of my family. I've been putting in 20 hours days so I haven't been able to document as much I should.

Long term flock development

Rabbit prices have gone through the roof with people interested in raising their own food. I was quoted $175 USD for 1 buck and 2 does by a local farmer, which is too much for me to get a decent ROI. So I converted the laundry washer casing that I was saving for a rabbitry into a large brooder for the chickens. I cut a piece of scrap plywood, inserted it into the bottom of the washer, put the top-loader on its side. Now we have a much bigger brooder than the old cooler I was using. I had to cull the one chick who was born with an abnormality. The remaining four pullets are doing well. I am going to introduce one rooster and any hens into the larger flock and will cull any other roosters for stew.
IMG_1085.jpg

My long-term goal is to develop a sustainable flock so that I can hatch regular broods for meat consumption and to replenish the layers.
IMG_1081.jpg
washing machine casing repurposed into brooder with top-loading door now as pop door

Skills in a stalled economy

The news on food security has been worrisome this week. Our local food bank ran out, and it is unclear when they will have enough food for another distribution. Some meat processing plants are closing due to COVID-19 infecitons. There is a glut of supply right now with pork and beef cattle, but the biggest challenges are processing the meat and delivering it to the store shelf. I am working on cultivating relationships with local farmers for staples like flour and milk, and we haven't been to the store in weeks.

I was briefly furloughed this week, before I was fortunate to be hired by another company who urgently needed my help. Skills are going to be more important than stockpiled food and helicopter money from here on out. The ability to do real things that people need, like butchering a pig, to writing code, to treating a wound, is what will sustain individuals. I need to keep learning and diversifying my skills.

COVID-19 Diary on the homestead
Day 1:on the homestead
Day 2: food security
Day 3: potatoes and resilience
Day 4: sweet potato slips
Day 6: opportunity and risk
Day 7: sustainable food
Day 9: profitable food production
Day 15: small engine repair and goodbyes
Day 21: bullheads and fish oil

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency