Gardening Pleasures: Reaping What You Sow

Keeping a garden here in the Middle East gets challenging by the day, as the summer heat intensifies. We are glad to have started this mini vegetable garden few months ago when the weather was nicer. This is actually all credits to @kennyroy who diligently tends to the garden.

These days, he has to water the plants twice a day - morning and evening to make sure they are hydrated properly. As for me, I take pleasure in harvesting, cooking and eating! 😅

You reap what you sow.

Or what your husband has sowed. Haha.

Over a week ago, I shared a video update of our vegetable garden, which you can find here.

The water spinach (kangkong) are also looking good. They are have now grown more luscious, but hubby doesn't want me to take any of them yet.

We have harvested a lot of the bitter gourd already, but I did not have the chance to pick from the water spinach patch until recently. Hence, I really got excited when I finally got my hands on them.

Imagine just plucking out from the gardens, and they go straight to the kitchen! Such a wonderful feeling, especially when you are in a desert where it is almost impossible during the summer months.

The small patch of water spinach that I planted at next to the wall of our villa generously gave me this bunch. They have grown so luscious effortlessly because of the drippings from the villa a/c that comes from the roof top!

Guess what these water spinach have become a few minutes later?

You guessed it right. Adobong Kangkong!

It is really very easy to prepare, and a great match to fried fish or even tofu. Yummm!

A few days later I was again able to pluck more and added them to my chicken tinola.

It tastes so fresh, and why not? It really is!

Look at that steamy hot chicken soup with fresh green water spinach.

Attempts at indoor gardening.

I am currently germinating some basil and romaine lettuce inside the house. Most of them have already sprouted. Fingers crossed, they will grow properly, and we will soon have fresh lettuce for our salads and lots of basil for our pasta and whatever.

They say, talk to your plants. Hey, I even sing to them. Lol. Given my singing prowess, I know that these plants shall grow and give us abundant returns.

How about you, how's your garden looking?

divider.png

Many thanks to @bearone for this beautiful Hiveph badge!

Join and subscribe to the HivePh Community : Supporting Filipinos Worldwide

Join us in Discord.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments
Ecency