From Blooms to Fruits + Growing Indoor Plants (Take 2)

Cover Photo Edit via Canva.

It is getting more exciting by the day!

Can you guys feel my giddiness here? Yay, and hooray, my mung plants started to bear fruits (or peas) since my last update where I shared they started to bloom. Well, I know they are not a lot, but just the mere fact that they are doing well just make my heart flutter.

I know a lot will agree that these plants give a lot of satisfaction, especially when you see them thrive from mere seeds.

These plants go through a lot day by day (like, who wants to be under extreme heat most of the day?!) but look at them!

An Ambitious Project

Speaking of seeds, I have been trying to grow some plants indoors -- basil and romaine lettuce in particular. My main challenge is that they do not get sunshine entirely, but only rely on lights.

My first try, a month ago, saw the seeds sprout into tiny plants. Unfortunately, they stayed that way... err, I mean, they will be remembered that way, since they did not survive. I think because they have very less light. Putting them outdoors, I think is will not be a good idea either since the heat can really be harsh, reaching 43 degrees Celsius these days and could be worse in the coming weeks.

These are the basil sprouts. Well, as you can see, they are everywhere in the pot. My kids were the ones who "sprinkled" the seeds and whoah, I did not realize they put a lot! Fingers crossed, they will grow bigger and I will eventually decide if I should remove the others at the sides (I know I should. LOL).

IMG_20200701_102115.jpg

Meanwhile, here are the romaine lettuce sprouts. This is also the second attempt to grow them, and I am hopeful that they will thrive. I did not know they have tall sprouts! Is this the way they're supposed to be?

IMG_20200701_102129.jpg

Fun Activity with Kids

Apart from the satisfaction of seeing these plants grow from seeds, the enjoyment I get when doing this with my children cannot be rated as well.

IMG_20200701_110112.jpg

Initially, it was only my Little Man who was "helping" me plant. We were later on joined by the other two, and before I know it, It already became a "water fight"! Boy, oh boy!

Back to the project! 🌱

@kennyroy repurposed some empty water bottles and made put them together so that we can grow our seeds here. Oh! Before this, @divinekids used these cups for their "travelling water experiment".

I used store-bought soil and seeds. This time, I decided to plant basil only. I am foreseeing making pesto sauce from my very own indoor garden!

First task is to make the soil wet. For some reason, this soil does not absorb water easily. It involved a lot of mixing and mushing from my end.

When all the eight cups were filled with the wet soil, I carefully put the seeds, this time without the assistance of the kiddos. So if later on we see that they sprout here and there in the cup, then that's just me. 😅

@kennyroy also installed two more lights hanging directly above the cabinet where I placed the plants. I am keeping my fingers crossed the lights will be enough to sustain their growth.

I need tips!

Indoor gardening (totally sun-less) is really challenging. I'd appreciate a tip or two from experts like you. Any tip you can share to me so I can succeed in this project?

I'd love to hear from you.

❤️Arlyn

divider.png

More Gardening Posts

Thriving in Summer: Growing a Garden in the Desert
Gardening Pleasures: Reaping What You Sow
Mini Vegetable Garden Update 2
Looking Up to the Sky! The Amazing Mung Plants
Our Thriving Little Garden
Our Mini Vegetable Garden : Little Pleasures

divider.png

Many thanks to @bearone for this beautiful Hiveph badge!

Join and subscribe to the HivePh Community : Supporting Filipinos Worldwide

Join us in Discord.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency