December HPUD Guessing Contest - A contest within a challenge

Last HPUD of the year!!! Yes, but the year isn't over yet, we still have one full month to power up and achieve whatever 2022 target we set ourselves. So keep powering up during the month everyone if you're here for the long run (not financial advice😉)

Traci.png

November was another quiet month for me. I made 10 posts only. That was mainly due to me going away for a week and being off grid most of the time. That said, I have plenty of travel content to share with everyone, I just need to get round to writing the posts. Anyway, back to this month's power up. I set myself a very soft target of 85k which I knew I would achieve, and I did during the month. However, in keeping with the HPUD spirit, I've still powered up a modest 200 HP to take my stake to 85550.
image.png

livinguktaiwan divider.png

A CONTEST WITHIN A CHALLENGE

This months HPUD Guessing Contest is actually a contest within a challenge. Today I saw a post from @rubencress about a 30 day Not-so-ordinary ordinary challenge. I like this challenge because it looks simple, but it goes deeper than that. Each day you post about an ordinary item, something that you use every day, maybe you don't even think about it when you use it. Ideally you'll be taking some creative photos of it instead of just point and shoot crap images.

And this is the part where it goes deeper

The other aspect is more about connecting with everyday life. What can we do better, what are things that I don't need, what is completely unnecessary, and what gives me joy and makes me feel happy? The last one may be a great way to be appreciative of even the little things in our lives. I also think it would be a great way to think a bit more about the origin of objects/items or think about why I have been using these items for quite some time.

It provokes you to think about yourself and your life, little things that are part of you but you neglect So you see, something ordinary can be turned into something not so ordinary. You just need to be creative and have the effort and heart to do it. I think that's what is often lacking in a lot of posts. I don't know if I will be able to do the full 30 day, because that's the effort part, and my track record hasn't exactly been great. We shall see how it goes.

So here's my Day 1 Not-so-ordinary ordinary challenge - HANDBAG
(HPUD Gussing Contest will follow after that)

I bought Handbag earlier this year, it's not big just 15cm x 20cm. It's very compact, just big enough to hold my mobile phone, a packet of tissues, my card case, keys, a shopping bag, a few face masks, and some hand sanitizer. The bag is made of leather like material which is actually very durable, I've been using it for nearly a year and there is no sign of damage at all. I wear it cross shoulder that's why the back has a black patch due to it rubbing against my jeans.
20221201_143421.jpg

20221201_143512.jpg

There's a zip underneath the front flap to make sure things don't fall out but I never use that. In fact, I forgot all about the zip until I tipped everything out today to take the photos. All the contents inside has it's own position and fits in snuggly, I know exactly which area to reach in for what I need without looking. And that caused a problem earlier on.
20221201_144949.jpg

The metal plate you see here is the back of the clasp on the front to Handbag. It's supposed to be covered by a piece of material as it's quite sharp. That bit of material fell off soon after I got Handbag and I didn't think much of it. Then one time I reached in to get something and the metal plate dug straight into my finger nail!! Luckily I didn't injure myself, but it did hurt a bit. Now I always place my packet of face masks in front of the plate to protect myself,
20221201_143905.jpg

The odd thing about Handbag, is that it's a lot more compact than my other handbags in my previous working and pre Covid life. The contents inside my handbags have also changed drastically over the past few years reflecting the change in my lifestyle and society in general.

Did you notice I don't have a wallet or purse? I very rarely use cash nowadays, all I need is a card case for my credit cards and driving licence. However, I still keep a bank note inside... just in case. Another change in recent years, is to bring your own shopping bag. I always have one of those foldup ones with me. During Covid, hand sanitisers and face mask were a must. During the height of Covid, you might go out without your mobile phone but never without a mask! But one thing that hasn't changed for me, is a packet of tissue. Maybe that's an Asian thing, but seriously, there are numerous times that they have come in very handy. Last and not least my mobile phone. Who doesn't have one nowadays? Some people's life revolve around their mobile phone, and some countries control people's freedom using via their mobile phones. Yes, it really does happen!! Recently I've started to use Google wallet, and realised I don't even need my credit cards anymore. Another change in my lifestyle and handbag content. Maybe one day all these modern tech will be embedded inside us, and we don't need to carry anything with us when we go out. That will be so scary.


DECEMBER HPUD GUESSING CONTEST

Traci.png

Ok, let's get to my HPUD Guessing Contest now. I love killing two birds with one stone, and since I've talked so much about my Handbag, I figured I'd used that for my HPUD Guessing Contest this month. This month's Guessing Contest is

How many centimeters long is my Handbag strap?
The measurement will be from the slit as shown on this image to the slit on other side.
20221201_144612.jpg

There are no clues this month, but if it helps here's the bag on me. I'm in white jacket in case you don't know me 😀
20220618_180116.jpg

The prize pool is 20 HBD and will go to the person who guessed correctly or the nearest to the correct answer. If there is more than one winner you will share the 20 HBD. And as always, if you HPUD today, I will double your prize if you guessed correctly.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
95 Comments
Ecency