EDUCATION: MISCONCEPTION ABOUT GUIDANCE AND COUNSELING

photo-1573495804664-b1c0849525af.jpeg
Image source

I wonder what people think to take Guidance and Counseling to be a thrash or irrelevant course to study especially in Nigeria. Many people with wrong idea/misconception about Guidance and Counseling.

Guidance and Counseling is so important to people especially as a student or anyone having one problem or the other and they need someone to help resolve it and give them an assurance that all will be well. This course is something that is so valued in other country except few people or universities in Nigeria who also values it.

I am a student offering this course and I have heard many lecturers undervaluing this beautiful and relevant courses. Most of them are of the idea that those who offers this course do not know anything and that they aren't learning. What are we then doing?

counseling-6044427__480.webp
Image source

My friends and I were discussing about the course and how many people had disrespected this course and this was my response to the conversation.

"Our lecturers are ignorant and do not understand what the course is all about. They do not value it here, but we have many people outside our country who are doing this course and taking it important to their lives. They value this course that many of these white people go for Psychology, Physiotherapy, Counseling and so on. Without going for Guidance and Counseling, you can never become a certified Counselor. In my country, there is nothing of such".

This really pained me because this is one of the courses that has potential and people respect those in the line of the course because we are there to help resolve every issues surrounding every individual.

patient-6139182__480.webp
Image source

As a Counselor,Therapist, Psychologist, Physiotherapist,there are different therapies to give to clients and these set of people are vast in the knowledge of it. How then do some lecturers and other people see Guidance and Counseling as an irrelevant course to offer.

I would want you to keep following me as I will be unleasing the meaning and concept of Guidance and Counseling on my blog.

I need your opinion on this course too. Is it something you would want to take if you have the opportunity to?

Do you also have a misconception about the course? Let me know in the comment section please.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency