My 49th Birthday's Present | My First Academic Vlog

Celebrando mi cumpleaños 49 con mi primer video educativo.

Today, I celebrate my 49th Birthday. Like previous ones, in the last years, this one was kind of low profile.

vlcsnap-2022-03-01-13h32m25s785 (2).png

Yesterday, though, I got what for me was a very valuable advanced present. About a month ago, a former student of mine at Universidad de Oriente approached me to ask if I could collaborate on a series of interviews about African-American life and culture. She has been working for CEVAO (Venezuelan-American Center) producing audio-visual material on cultural affairs.

I was more than pleased to accept the invitation, after so many years without talking with anyone about academic topics. It would be a short semi-scripted interview as part of a series of videos to promote American culture among spanish speakers.

I chose to talk about Langston Hughes, one of the most prolific and versatile African-American intelectuals.

Well, yesterday, the video was ready and I could not be happier.

You can also watch it at the official CEVAO Instagram account

A note on the video:

One instance I might have not articulated clearly, in regards to Booker T. Washington's controversial phrase: "In all things that are purely social we [blacks and white] can be as separate as the fingers, yet one as the hand in all things essencial to mutual progress." (The Atlanta Exposition Address, 1895)

There is a lot left unsaid about Hughes and his complex work, but this was just a motivational video about reading in general and a promotion of American writers who are unknown to Spanish speakers here.

I am looking forward to working on more projects like this, either for the CEVAO or just for my Hive blog/vlog and I am grateful to Laurenis Gil for the opportunity to help in this commendable project. With limited resources and technical knowledge she managed to edit the video and teach me a lesson about the ethical duty of an educator to never stop learning.

Birthday Celebration

IMG-20220301-WA0044.jpg

As for my birthday celebration, well, my wife invited me to eat pizza for lunch. We went to our favorite place and it was great.

IMG_20220301_134101.jpg

When we got home, I got a delivery from my youngest daughter, Anna, who lives in Puerto Ordaz. She sent me some delicious cake and cupcakes.

IMG_20220301_184527.jpg

It was a great day, all things considered. I am very grateful for all the people who showed me affection today and reminded me that "the game ain't over till it's over", and we'd better enjoy every bit of it.

Thanks for stopping by

IMG_20200402_095033.jpg

Hive gif 2.gif

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now