Fatherhood (No Spoilers)

Released on Netflix just two days ago, I quickly watched Kevin Hart's 'Fatherhood' movie. There had been so much buzz and promo about it by Kevin Hart himself and I really was curious. It came right on time for Father's day too.

MV5BMzU5YWYzZGMtNTE2My00NDE0LTgxNWYtZDYzYjI2YzM3OWJlXkEyXkFqcGdeQXVyMTkxNjUyNQ@@._V1_.jpg
Source

My thoughts before watching the movie was kind of wrong. It is about fatherhood as the name suggests and I had thought Kevin Hart was going to play his regular crazy self but he pulled off a rather impressive performance.

Fatherhood is an adaptation of Matthew Logelin's memoir, Two Kisses For Maddy. It's a true story about the author himself from meeting his high school sweetheart Liz to getting married, having their first baby and losing Liz just after childbirth.

Matthew Logelin had to be a full time father and figure out how to raise a child on his own. In the process, he figures out himself and how to be responsible.

The movie had some cliché scenes and I can't tell if they were part of the original story because I haven't read the book. Kevin Hart's delivery of this role is very commendable though. It was refreshing seeing him play an emotional character and not just being 'Kevin Hart'.

Also, the little girl, Melody Hurd who played Matthew's daughter did a pretty good job. She's a great actress and understood the assignment.

images (23).jpeg
Source

It's a sad story and even sadder that it's a real story. I cried when Matthew's wife died because it was so much pain for Matthew to bear. A very touching scene was when Matthew said he wished it was Liz being the single parent and not him.

Fatherhood makes me appreciate the single fathers I know doing it on their own. It's hard being tasked with the sole responsibility of doing something you have no clue about and never thought you'd do. But clearly, if you're intentional about it, you get the hang of it.

Mothers are often said to be natural nurturers but even for them, it gets difficult raising a child. Fatherhood is just a good example that fathers can be nurturers too.

Overall, I liked the movie. It was sad, had some 'aww' moments and also funny. It's a family movie so anyone can watch it. Buckle up for tears if you're easily moved like me though.

I'd give this a solid 8/10 rating.

You can watch here on Netflix

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency