The gateway to the unknown.

This publication was also written in SPANISH and PORTUGUESE.

gateway01.jpg

Pixabay

A few years ago, after I changed my mind and started to appreciate independent movies more, I see the cultural and social transformative power that exists in them much more clearly than I did before. I evolved from an American "trance" state (because I unfortunately could only see Hollywood movies) with no room for other movies (including those from my own country), to an open mind and thirsty for a lot of culture.

I don't remember very well which was the first one from another country (besides Brazil and the United States) that I watched and I don't think I can remember it anymore, because the list is fortunately quite long. It took me a while to see this gateway to a new world, but when I finally opened it, I've been treading a very interesting path that has provided me with the most numerous and different types of cultural and visual experiences.

gateway02.jpeg

Clarie J. Harris

Literally, having the opportunity to watch an independent movie (especially from a country that I know absolutely nothing about) is something "surreal", because all I have available is the vision, of the movie that is in the in front of me and what was done through the writers, actors and directors. I know the "different worlds" through the particular vision of these professionals and I do a real cultural exchange at home.

It doesn't exactly matter if the movie is good or bad, what fascinates me most about independent movies is the chance to get to know other countries, discover new cultures, new customs, new traditions and new talents. The world materializes in front of me through images and sounds from hitherto unknown places, which bring me a clear feeling of how small we are in relation to the planet. I honestly love this kind of "diving".


La puerta de entrada a lo desconocido.

Hace unos años, después de que cambié de opinión y comencé a apreciar más las películas independientes, veo el poder transformador cultural y social que existe en ellas mucho más claramente que antes. Pasé de un estado de "trance" estadounidense (porque desafortunadamente solo podía ver películas de Hollywood) sin lugar para otras películas (incluidas las de mi propio país), a una mente abierta y sedienta de mucha cultura.

No recuerdo muy bien cuál fue el primero de otro país (además de Brasil y Estados Unidos) que vi y creo que ya no lo recuerdo, porque afortunadamente la lista es bastante larga. Me tomó un tiempo ver esta puerta de entrada a un mundo nuevo, pero cuando finalmente la abrí, estaba recorriendo un camino muy interesante que me ha proporcionado los más numerosos y diferentes tipos de experiencias culturales y visuales.

Literalmente, tener la oportunidad de ver una película independiente (sobre todo de un país del que no sé absolutamente nada) es algo "surrealista", porque lo único que tengo disponible es la visión, de la película que está frente a mí y lo que se hizo a través de los guionistas, actores y directores. Conozco los "mundos diferentes" a través de la visión particular de estos profesionales y hago un verdadero intercambio cultural en casa.

No importa exactamente si la película es buena o mala, lo que más me fascina del cine independiente es la posibilidad de conocer otros países, descubrir nuevas culturas, nuevas costumbres, nuevas tradiciones y nuevos talentos. El mundo se materializa frente a mí a través de imágenes y sonidos de lugares hasta ahora desconocidos, que me traen una clara sensación de lo pequeños que somos en relación al planeta. Sinceramente, me encanta este tipo de "inmersión".


A porta de entrada para o desconhecido.

Há alguns anos, depois que eu mudei a minha mente e comecei a apreciar mais os filmes independentes, eu vejo a potência cultural e de transformação social que existe neles com muito mais clareza do que eu via antes. Eu evolui de um estado de "transe" americano (porque eu infelizmente só conseguia enxergar os filmes hollywoodianos) sem espaço para outros filmes (incluindo os do meu próprio país), para uma mente aberta e sedenta por muita cultura.

Eu não lembro muito bem qual foi o primeiro de outro país (além do Brasil e dos Estados Unidos) que eu assisti e não acho que hoje eu consigo mais lembrar, porque a lista felizmente é bem longa. Eu demorei para enxergar essa porta de entrada para um mundo novo, mas quando eu finalmente a abri, eu venho trilhando um caminho bastante interessante e que tem me proporcionado os mais inúmeros e diferentes tipos de experiências culturais e visuais.

Literalmente, ter a oportunidade de assistir a algum filme independente (em especial de um país ao qual eu não sei absolutamente nada sobre qualquer aspecto) é algo "surreal", porque tudo o que eu tenho disponível é a visão, do filme que está na minha frente e do que foi feito através dos roteiristas, dos atores e dos diretores. Eu conheço os "mundos diferentes" pela visão particular desses profissionais e faço um verdadeiro intercâmbio cultural em casa.

Não importa exatamente se o filme é bom ou ruim, o que mais me fascina nos filmes independentes é a chance de conhecer outros países, conhecer novas culturas, novos costumes, novas tradições e novos talentos. O mundo se materializa na minha frente através de imagens e sons de locais até então desconhecidos, e que me trazem a nítida sensação do quão pequenos nós somos em relação ao planeta. Eu sinceramente adoro esse tipo de "mergulho".

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency