Ascenseur pour l'échafaud (1958)

Conspiracy, Forbidden Love, Murder - sounds like a intriguing story, doesn't it? It is an intriguing film with a recipe that contains more than what's mentioned. I have yet to understand what a person faces or thinks of while they take someone's life. Regardless, one cannot get away from the crime he/she committed. Fate has a rather weird way of teaching us lessons; perhaps that's the true meaning of karma. It always bites back. Ascenseur pour l'échafaud - Elevator to the Gallows 1958 I will not say if it is a must watch; that is for you to decide. I can only show you what I see and nothing more.

Ascenseur pour l'échafaud (1958)


Image SOurce

If you're wondering about the name of the film then I say "Of course you should be." At first, I thought it was hinting something else, or there's a subtext and I'm very bad at decrypting those. But the more I was watching the film, the more I realized there's a subtext but it also is an actuality; a journey from the elevator to the gallows. Now, I can sense that wrinkle over your forehead.

The film is directed by Louis Malle, starring Jeanne Moreau and Maurice Ronet as the leading actors. You should hear the background scores; to say they're captivating, will be an understatement. Yes, I have skipped the rest of the credits that you can Google easily. There are arguments regarding if the movie is a film noir or not; honestly, I don't give much attention to if it is placed in any genre or if they create a new genre for it. Is it a French crime thriller? Yes, it is. Is it considered as a French New Wave film? You bet it does. Let's leave the genre to where it is as there's more to the story than the label is capable to describe.


Image Source

Image Source

Aren't you wondering about the characters? Hmm, I was wondering about those too. Once upon a time there were two lovers, Florence and Julien. Florence, the character played by Jeanne Moreau is the beautiful wife of a wealthy businessman who's not happy with her marriage; perhaps there was more to what the situation was in her married life but it wasn't explained. And there's Julien, played by Maurice Ronet, who's an ex-Foreign Legion parachutist officer and a veteran of the Indochina and Algeria wars, also referred to as Angel by his boss aka Florence's husband. Why do I feel like I am giving out spoilers? Anyways, moving on.

I'm the one who can't take anymore.
I love you. I love you.
So we have to. I love you.

A teary eyed Florence talking to Julien in the phone booth, the opening scene of the movie. So much is visible in the first few moments of it. Two people in a torrid affair to be kept separated by the shackles of society and the power some people possess. They already have hatched a full proof plan of how they can forever break the shackles and be free to be together. Yes, you guessed it right. They formed a full proof plan of killing Florence's husband. Probably her husband deserved it but even with that, the two lovers didn't realize that so many things could go wrong; and coincidentally the things that did go wrong were the things that are unimaginable. The end justifies the means always. I can tell you how the movie ended but that isn't the whole story; it does ruin the story significantly though.


Image Source

What do I feel about the movie?

I enjoyed it, all of it. If you haven't noticed then let me point you out, most of the movies that I write about are of crime, thriller and suspense. No, wrong; except for one movie, the rest are the above mentioned genres. Even though I could see the ending from a mile away, the movie isn't about how it ended; rather it was about how it got to the end. The near misses, the confusion, the endless twists and turns and the hope that the lovers will make it; they almost did. They were almost scot-free. The destination, freedom, was within the grasp. Karma always bites back; it doesn't hold back.

The track is of Miles Davis and now you know why I mentioned about the soundtrack. It's sublime and lonely and I'm clueless about how you feel but I find myself swaying with eyes closed.


surrealfia.gif

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency