Review of The Dig 2021 Movie on Netflix

image.png

Let me just say that this was definitely a well done movie. It is a period piece based on the true story of a wealthy English widow named Edith Pretty. She hired a man named Basil Brown who calls himself an excavator because he is not formally trained as an archaeologist but has many years of experience. She hired him to dig up the mounds on her estate under which she believed were hidden artifacts of much historical significance.

One of the issues in the story that never occurred to me is how museums battle to get artifacts to put on display. I guess it makes sense but that isn't something I ever thought about before.

Since the story takes place just before WW II begins for England, there is much concern over getting the artifacts dug up and the site preserved and who the best people are to do that job.

If you're into political and social issues, those are explored in the movie as well.

One example of this is how Basil Brown is treated by the formally trained archaeologists. He is ordered around and made to do menial tasks without regard for his experience and knowledge.

There is also a young woman archaeologist to whom it is made very clear that she is only along because of the fact that she is small enough to fit into places where the men cannot go. I guess I forgot if I ever knew that an archaeological dig could be so dangerous. One of the comments made to her when she dug up what turned out to be a rather important artifact is "clever girl" as if it was a surprise that she knew what she was doing.

I am trying to recommend this movie without giving away too much of the story. I don't like spoilers either.

I am also not sure how long it is going to be available so if you like this type of movie you might want to watch it as soon as you can make some time.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency