Is the Korean remake as good as the Spanish version?

'Money Heist' has become a TV show that will live rent-free in many people's brains. We Cinephiles enjoyed it to a tee and it's not a surprise because those Spanish folks did their homework in each episode and season of the show.

When shows and Movies alike gain the type of reputation and international recognition that Money Heist has, you would always expect a remake of the show or a sort of sequel or prequel. The Spanish folks gave us the first Money Heist. The Koreans decided to give us a remake.

I, for one, thoroughly enjoyed 'La Casa de Papel', the Spanish Version of Money Heist. I wasn't ready for a remake when I started hearing whispers of its possibility. You know, we Cinephiles do not want a remake that will ruin the good memories we have of a well-made show.

Nonetheless, I'm also an age-old lover of Kdrama, so hearing that the remake would be made by Koreans gave me reasons to check it out. I was filled with a surge of anticipation as I looked forward to seeing the synopsis, the casts and so on. Lo and behold, the first part and second part of the series are finally released with each having 6 episodes.

Money_Heist-_Korea-p2~2.jpg

Is it a good remake?

Is it as good as the Spanish Version?

These have been the question on many people's lips and I genuinely understand that something like this will surely come up. Even the production crew would have expected this sorta comparison between their remake and the original version.

As far as I can tell, I thoroughly enjoyed both of them, but the element of surprise that came with my inability to predict what would happen throughout the original version of the show gives it an edge over the remake.

The Korean remake adopted a lot of events and characterization from the Spanish version. This can be argued to be unavoidable, but that made some sequences in the show lack the thrill I felt while watching the Spanish Version.

This surely counts as a good remake, but I don't rate it as high as the Spanish version. They are not at par.

What about y'all?

How would you rate the Korean and the Spanish versions?

Thanks For Not Missing Any Full-stop Or Comma
The thumbnail Image is taken from AsianWiki

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
20 Comments
Ecency