The best song in a movie for me

I have been willing to write about this song for a while because it is a song that always put me in self-reflection. The movie by itself is a classic know by the big majority of the world, but for me, it isn't the greatest movie, and if I mention my top 50 movies that I saw in my life, probably it isn't going to be there. It is a movie from 1998 called City of Angels.
image.png

If you didn't watch the movie, as you can see on the poster it is stared by Nicolas Cage (bleh actor) and Meg Ryan ( it has been a while since I haven't seen her, but she used to be in lots of romantic comedies movies).
So now all people that watched the movie have already guessed which song I am talking about since the band Goo Goo Dolls was nominated for a couple of Grammy awards in 1999 because of this song. The song is called Iris.

If you read my previous music posts, you noticed that I like songs that make you think about your personal choices, thoughts, desires, and guilty. But the thing that made me finally write about this song was the #cinetvcontest which just was the final trigger.

The song mostly talks about the feelings that we internally lock and this lock mostly inhibits you to be exposed to love. Since love is cultivated by knowing more and more about your partner. Sometimes we feel guilty or shame about things that at least we think about ourselves. And these feelings avoid us to be open to a person that we admire, that whom we want to build a relationship together.

The last verse of the song is the most powerful part of the music for me:
"And you can't fight the tears that ain't coming
Or the moment of truth in your lies
When everything feels like the movies
Yeah, you bleed just to know you're alive"

For me, it is just the moment that you finally burst, when your internal lock can't hold anymore. In this part that can happen in one day, but sometimes even after years, the person finally shares the truth, what is inside.

The chorus, which also ends the music and has the last two sentences:
"When everything's made to be broken
I just want you to know who I am"

It shows our will to open, but still most of the time, we can't.

Bellow, you can watch the official movie clip of the song.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
12 Comments
Ecency