Ba Lu Coffee - an ancient coffee shop for 67 years old

Hi my dear friends,

I am a big coffee lover and today I will tell you a story about an old coffee shop in Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam which sells coffee for over 60 years. The way to roast and brew coffee by unique materials makes this shop very special

a_story_about_a_coffee_shop.png

Last year, I had an opportunity to visit Ho Chi Minh City, I have heard about a famous coffee shop then I find the way to Ba Lu sieve cafe in Phung Hung market, Cho Lon area, District 5.

902bf6d83cc2ca9c93d3.jpg

The shop is exactly 67 years old, through many ups and downs. Around the table is a tool for roasting and grinding coffee. A special feature of this cafe is that the premises have not been improved much over the years, but only black and white photos hanging on the wall are the owner of the shop taken with tourists

The owner told me that coffee is brewed through a sieve (the one hanging there), roasted on firewood and added a lot of spices to it such as butter, salt, wine, dried areca. . and dessert with black tea. Coffee in my opinion is delicious and has a strong roasted smell, but above all, I still really like the style of the owner of the shop, Mr. Ba Lu

57470674cc6e3a30637f.jpg

dsc06203_dzyk.jpg
(src)

Coffee is roasted and ground by hand. This is strong and aromatic coffee which is a typical Chinese dish. Moreover, the price of a cup of racket coffee is only 15,000 VND, very cheap for a good drink

bbcd3c22f63800665929.jpg

The shop is open from 2 am when the market opens and closes at 5 pm. When I came to Ba Lu cafe, I was very impressed with the bustling atmosphere of the market here. People buy goods, sell goods crowded. Since it has been sold for 67 years, the shop is very popular. Currently, because of the Covid epidemic, Ba Lu market and cafe must be closed. Hopefully the city will stop locking down soon so that coffee lovers like me can drink it

4e8f959f5f85a9dbf094.jpg

The owner said there were only 2 or 3 sieve cafes in Saigon, said in a regretful voice "It will die soon". In the end, old things can be erased over time, but memories are forever

Thank you so much for reading my post. Wish you a great day!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
14 Comments
Ecency