Arepas in Scotland. Yes It's True!

Hello Hello Food Lovers of the Hive.

Don't you just love going abroad to new countries and eating new cuisines, that is one of the most favourite parts of travelling for me.

One of the joys of Hive is that you meet and connect with so many wonderful people from all over the world.

One such amazing friend for me is @coquicoin who is from Venezuela. One food I had seen from the Venezuelan community was "Arepa". From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Arepa (Spanish pronunciation: [aˈɾepa]) is a type of food made of ground maize dough stuffed with a filling, eaten in the northern region of South America since pre-Columbian times, and notable primarily in the cuisine of Colombia and Venezuela, but also present in the cuisines of Bolivia, Panama and other countries.

Main ingredients Corn flour (maize meal or flour)

image.png

As we had lived in Florida, @coquicoin was pretty sure we had seen the flour to make them.

One day on a whim, I decided to look for Arepas in Scotland where we live, and saw a restaurant serving them in Edinburgh.

Oh Edinburgh is not that far away, next time we are there we shall pop in and try some I told coqui.

Something caught my eye and it was a review for a restaurant here in Kirkcaldy where we live in Fife.

The plan was born and the visit booked!

Here then is the result, the review!

image.png

Restaurant: Roots & Seeds Cafe Bistro

73 High street, Kirkcaldy, Fife, KY1 1LN

rootsandseedscatering@gmail.com

01592 266182

image.png

The menu

When I saw the menu online, they had a choice of fillings and the one that appealed to me was Chicken and Chorizo. I do love my chorizo!

image.png

But like so many plans, reality sets in and they get thrown out the window!

Oh we are seasonal said the newly hired waitress. So we have cook what is in season. Chorizo is not in season in Scotland thought I!

The owner was originally from Caracas in Venezuela we found out.

image.png

No Chicken and Chorizo, oh no it was Roasred Beed now!

I had visions of eating in Paris and the French laughing at Les Rosbifs as they affectionately call us The Roast Beefs.

The Roasted Beef Arepa was ordered for me!

Mrs T was not having it, as we not deemed big enough for our meal of the day!

The drinks

Coffeeholics drink coffee right?

Right!

So a latte and a cappuccino was ordered!
image.png

Verdict: Very good!

Water, you always need water with your food!

image.png

It came in some fancy bottle.

Verdict: Very good though, as you would expect, Scotland has fantastic water!

image.png

The Main Courses

Ladies First! (Francesinha from Porto in Portugal!)

Oh this sounds nice said Mrs T and ordered a Portuguese sandwich that you eat with a knife and fork!

image.png

You really did need a knife and fork and the sandwich in question was a Francesinha from Porto in Portugal!

image.png

That looks great, but Tengo...?

Yes?

What the fluff is a Francesinha from Porto in Portugal!

A multi-tiered sandwich, it consists of three pieces of bread, filled with different meats, covered with cheese, and served on a bed of sauce.

The slices of bread are interspersed with ham, steak, and sausages. On the assembled sandwich are slices of melted cheddar cheese covering it completely.

Served on a deep plate filled with sauce, it’s garnished with a fried egg and lots of fries around it.

Yes I had googled this page before Mrs T ordered it.

And yes it was as described and did indeed have a the fried egg in it!

image.png

Verdict from Mrs T:

Wow it was not what I imagined but it was very tasty and so very filling. The fried egg was totally awesome!

I would have it again, yes please!

The dressing on the salad was out of this world!

The chips were good, but I think I preferred yours as that was a nice change!

All the foo was piping hot, so be careful not to burn your tongue!

image.png

Tengo and his Arepa (Roast Beef style)

image.png

BAM no messing around, there it is and you can clearly see the Roast Beef!

image.png

And trust me, when I say that it tastes as good as it looks!

Remember I said the salad had a wonderful tasting dressing ...

image.png

Mrs T had chips, I was spoilt as my chips were actually homemade crisps from sweet potatoes!

image.png

Was it fluffy?

Yes it was, the corn flour had a really nice fluffiness to it!

Verdict from me:

In Scotland we have baps or rolls which are great,but the Arepa brings a new twist to having a sandwich.
It was so light and fluffy and you could put anything in it!

image.png

Whilst writing this post I went online to see what flavours they had for the fillings...

image.png

First thing that I saw, is that the price had gone up!

THE OVERALL VERDICT?

FLUFFING AWESOME ... said Mrs T and I completely agree.
So thank you Super Eli @coquicoin for suggesting there were Arepas in Scotland, and thank you Tengo for always wanting to try something new!

Fine praise indeed. And that will do for me.

Thanks for visiting and have a fantastic rest of your week!

image.png


SB_theMenu_Banner.png


All images and ramblings are from me, the mad Scotsman TengoLoTodo and pictures taken with my Smartphone.
@tengolotodo January 26th 2023

DO WHAT YOU LOVE AND DO IT OFTEN

Haste Ye Back!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
56 Comments
Ecency