RE: In The Kitchen With Kat-Apple Pie The Cake

My version:

Cake mix
2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour (ideally, should use cake flour, but I didn't have any)
1 1/2 cups white sugar
1 Tbsp + 1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
4 Tbsp unsalted butter

Everything else
1/2 cup brown sugar (packed)
1 1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp nutmeg
1/4 tsp cloves
1/2 cup light olive oil
4 eggs
2 tsp vanilla extract
1 1/4 cups buttermilk
2 cups shredded apples (I don't have the slightest clue which varieties grow in my orchard, but one looks like Macintosh)

Preheat oven to 350 Fahrenheit. Grease and flour the bottom of two 8 inch cake pans.

Mix dry ingredients for the cake mix, then cut in butter. Add everything else but the apples, mix well using a hand mixer or stand mixer (which I don't have) for at least a minute. Stop and scrape the bowl well with a rubber spatula.

Beat batter for an additional minute or two until fluffy and well mixed.

Fold in shredded apples and spread the batter into the two prepared pans.

Bake 40-45 minutes (additional time is probably the result of using all-purpose flour)

Filling (vanilla pudding)
3/4 cup white sugar
2 Tbsp cornstarch
1/4 tsp salt
2 cups milk
1 well-beaten egg
2 Tbsp butter
1 tsp vanilla extract

Mix dry ingredients, transfer to saucepan (if, like me, you aren't experienced with making pudding, use a double-boiler) and add milk. Cook and stir over medium heat until thick and bubbly, then cook and stir additional 2 minutes. Remove from heat, and pour small amount into bowl with egg. Mix well with egg, pour egg mixture back into saucepan, return to medium heat, cook and stir two minutes. Remove from heat, add butter and vanilla. Mix well and chill.

I don't measure ingredients for whipped cream, I just mix heavy whipping cream (which I used to put in my coffee, before I started drinking it black as a teen-ager) with powdered sugar to taste.

I'm still trying to perfect the cobbler bread recipe; my last attempt turned out like apple bread with crumb-cake topping. It was good, but not what I was going for. It could be a while before I share that, after all, I don't know how many years I was making my heartwarming beef stew before I finally wrote down the recipe.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency