Aceh Noodle, Traditional Indonesian Cuisine for Spicy Food Fans

It's great to see @ocd is highlighting Foodies Bee Hive @hive-120586 community for this week, by holding a contest themed : "Showcase your most favorite traditional food in your country". So, besides being able to show a traditional food from our own country, we can also see many traditional foods from other countries (and learn the recipes). Yummy yummy yummy πŸ˜‹πŸ˜‹πŸ˜‹

My Most Favorite Traditional Food in My Country

What's the traditional Indonesian food that I like most? Hm... I like so many traditional food, but I think... From all the traditional foods that I like, seems like my most favorite one is mie Aceh (Aceh noodles).

Mie Aceh 1.jpg
Fried Aceh noodles with shrimp

As the name implies, mie Aceh is a noodle dish from the Aceh region on the Sumatra island. This food has the characteristic of thick yellow noodles, enriched with spices and a kind of savory and spicy curry sauce. Served with slices of beef, chicken, shrimp, or squid, usually added with fried onions, cucumber, lime, chopped shallots, and chips.

Mie Aceh 2.jpg
Fried Aceh noodles with beef

There are three types of Aceh noodles provided, namely fried Aceh noodles (dry), stir-fried Aceh noodles (with a little sauce) and Aceh noodle soup (with curry sauce/gravy). The spicy savory taste of the curry and its spices is what makes Aceh noodles sooo delicious!

Mie Aceh 3.jpg
Aceh noodles soup with beef

I've never made Aceh noodles, yet. Usually I eat or order Aceh noodles at restaurants or buy them from street vendors. Since Indomie (instant noodles) released its variant of Aceh fried noodles, I often make it. Consider we’re eating Aceh noodles at lower prices with pretty good enough taste.😁

Mie Aceh 4.jpg
Instant fried Aceh noodles

But, I also want to try cooking Aceh noodles myself, not instant ones. Maybe one day I'll try to make it based on the recipe from this website. Yeah, maybe.

How about you? Do you like spicy food?


Thank you for stopping by and reading this post. Have a nice day. See you again!



My entry for (Theme) Showcase your most favorite traditional food in your country #ocd #foodiesbeehive
All images original photo by me @sigota
Camera: Xiaomi mi5s

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency