Big Poppa's

Big Poppa's



Someone's watching me

I have a million things that need to be finished before the end of the year: work accreditations, electronic paperwork, online courses, books, comics, and online courses.

But it's Friday night, I'm restless and I need to get out of the house.

My Google Mini told me that the local shopping centre would be open until 9pm, but when I arrived at 7pm, a security guard was lowering the roller shutters in one section of the shopping centre.

I walk on and see a sign for a new local restaurant called Big Poppa's. Apparently it's a franchise with a few locations around the city.

Before entering, I chose one of the beef schniztels to order, from a menu in the window and walked in.

Inside, there is a huge painted image of Notorious B.I.G painted on the left side wall surrounded by his quotes written in a graffiti font in different coloured spraypaint. It's the giy looking at me in the main image above.

To the right is a wall filled with framed black and white photos of various rappers.

To the front there is a bar which has 3 widescreen TV screens on the back wall. The first and third TV screens are playing different rap music videos while the middle one is displaying the coffee prices.

Different coffee cups and even merch are displayed across the back wall.

I'm greeted by a friendly staff member who takes my order. I order the OG Original Gangster Beef Schniztel and included a side of hot chicken wings and a bottle of Pepsi Max.

I sat down and a bottle of water and glass large glass were presented and soon after my bottle of Pepsi Max was place on the table with a really wide rimmed straw inside it.


Pepsi Max and water

The oversized straw in the Pepsi bottle cause it to fizz up and spill out a little, not once but twice. After cleaning it up I could see the efficacy of traditional skinny plastic straws, long since banned.

It took a while for the main meal to arrive, so I spent time taking in my surroundings. Various songs from the 1990’s played on the speakers. Loud enough to be heard, but not overpowering where you couldn’t hold a conversation.

There was a gorgeous young woman wearing hospitality clothing. She was wearing the most amazing shade of lipstick that suited her perfectly but I said nothing. She had a slight European accent and I caught the name Marie, so I am guessing she was a French tourist doing casual work.

Instead of beef schnitzel, it turned out to be chicken schniztel but I'd waited so long I didn't notice until it was too late.


Chicken Schnitzel, corn ribs, chips and gravy

Apologies for forgetting to crop my groin out of the shot.

The chips were slightly overcooked but were still crunchy, qbut the corn ribs were seasoned and cooked to perfection.

What turned out to be a chicken schnitzel was over a foot long and half a foot wide. It could have been cooked slightly longer as it was still slightly pink inside in places, but generally a decent meal. The gravy was amazing!

The hot chicken wings were incredible too.


Hot chicken wings

The lady boss saw that I hadn't finished the schnitzel and said jokingly "Did we defeat you?"

I reluctantly admitted, that they had indeed defeated me and she offered me a take home box, which I accepted.

There was a good quarter of the schnitzel left to take home.

Soon it was time to leave and I asked for their opening times.

They're open from 7am to 9pm and have a breakfast menu.

It will be a while before I can comfortably afford to go back there again, but I'm definitely considering one of their big breakfast meals.

Online elsewhere they are getting rave reviews.
My only gripe was not getting what I had originally ordered, but what I got was pretty good.

Until next time,

Thanks for reading.

A big thumbs up and Happy New Year for 2024!



Shaidon

All content, including photos and text, are produced by myself except where indicated otherwise and sources are always supplied. I do not use A.I. so your upvotes support a genuine human being producing original material.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now