Hummus Homemade

Hello, chefs! 😋

It's always been said that the most delicious food is the one that is fresh, with ingredients straight from the field or garden, like my previous recipe, but now I'm going to make an exception.

I didn't plant chickpeas this year (I certainly will next year), I don't know why, I think I forgot about it in the spring when I was planting the field, I only remembered it a couple of days ago when someone in the family wanted some spread. And since I occasionally make chickpea spread or hummus, I remembered that I had forgotten to plant it in the spring.


But don't panic, chickpeas, already cooked, are available in cans, very cheap, and can be found practically everywhere, in all shops.

So hummus, chickpea spread.
This is not a dish from our country, but it's one of the most common dishes and one of the most recognizable dishes from the Middle East. It's used as a stand-alone dish, as a spread, as a dip, or as an ingredient in other dishes. It has also been popular here in recent years, and I don't know anyone who hasn't heard of it.

Hummus is supposed to have been made more than 7 000 years ago, and the first recipe was written down in Cairo in the 13th century for the Sultan Saladin. And I'm making it from this recipe :)

What do you need to make homemade hummus?

  • cooked chickpeas, I have two tins of 150 grams each
  • tahini sesame paste, one tablespoon
  • a clove or two of garlic
  • a tablespoon or two of olive oil
  • juice of one lemon
  • salt and pepper
  • other spices if desired, I added white pepper and curry powder


Put the cooked chickpeas in a bowl. You can either drain it, then add a little more water or just shake all the liquid together in a bowl.


Add one tablespoon of tahini sesame paste.


😋 😎 😋

Roughly chop the garlic and add it to the bowl.


Squeeze in the juice of one lemon, a teaspoon each of salt and pepper, and any other spices you like.

I read somewhere, on a forum, that curry should not be added under any circumstances, but I did it because it neutralizes the strong taste of the chickpeas.


😋 😎 😋

And then blend everything with a blender. It should not be too runny but like a paste. If it's too dry, add a tablespoon of water or olive oil until you get the texture you like.


And that's it. A few minutes and we have hummus. Traditionalists will scream that we do everything by hand, without an electric mixer, but I won't listen to them :)


😋 😎 😋

Serve with a piece of bread.


😋 😎 😋

An excellent spread, especially for breakfast. You can keep it in the fridge for up to seven days but we run out after a couple of days :)


Thank you for your attention!

😋 😎 😋

More foodies?

My First Edamame, Seasonal Vegetables With Couscous, Asparagus Fritatta, Menu In Rome, Cauliflower Soup, Spam Noodles, Minestra International, Mashed Kale With Potatoes, Homemade French Salad, Christmas Lunch, Pancetta Pasta, Home Made Hot Chili Sauce, Shrimps With Sweet Potatoes And Zucchini, Pasta E Fagioli, The Sunday Feast, Stewed Asparagus And Aubergines With Mashed Potatoes, Summer Pizza, Stuffed Zucchini, Zucchini Polpettes, Pork With Vegetables In The Oven, Prebranec, Roasted Cauliflower, Cabbage Soup, Fusilli With Spinach, Ramen Homemade, Wild Garlic Pesto, Wild Hops Salad, A Feast Of Beef Burgers And Side Dishes, Dandelion Spring Salad, Baked Potatoes In The Oven, Empty Fridge Soup, Vegetables With Soba Noodles, An Omelet My Way, Quick Tuna Spread, Carbonara Home Made, Szegedin Goulash With Polenta, Vegetable Soup With Noodles And Breaded Chicken, Cauliflower With Yogurt Dressing, Scrambled "muffin" eggs, Vegetable Risotto, Macaroni with tomato sauce and prosciutto, Spinach Omellet, Spaghetti With Tomato Paste, Mashed Potatoes And Spinach With Cream, Liver Sausage Stew With Polenta, Light Salad, Pizza Mania, Pasta Vegetable, Breakfast: Peanut Butter & Sambal Oelek, Breading, How to prepare fish quickly?, Risotto, Baked Potatoes With Chicken Legs, Asparagus Eggs, Hot Dog Improvisation, Easy Dinner, Asparagus pie, Fake Pizza, Easy Chicken Rolls, Asparagus Pasta, Quick Breakfast, Egg Sandwich, Menu for today, Late lunch, Breakfast: Muffins.

@foodiesunite

😋 📷 😋

Stay Healthy!
logosecko.gif
@seckorama
My NFT Showroom Gallery
Watch my 3Speak Channel
Beer Tasting
Live Music playlist
VJing playlist

Ready For Web3
hive_nft_200x200.gif

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments
Ecency