A Wisconsin Grill Story : Bone in Ribeyes

PXL_20210508_222817701.jpg

The meat again came from a local CSA we’ve been using for a number of years. The farm we buy from is run by a family that uses a savannah style of herd raising that is based on the techniques of the Native American farming culture. The premise is simple in today’s modern times; the use of controlled fire to control the prairie landscape in the driftless area that we live in isn’t necessarily the best means to control the landscape. Rather, as this farming family has concluded, it is better to use grazing animals on the land to better control prairie vegetation. I like this idea quite a bit, and anytime I can support the local and humane treatment of livestock, I do.

This meal was fairly simple. As stated, it began with bone-in ribeyes, and one additional boneless ribeye we bought to split later in the week as leftovers. To add to it, we found some corn on sale at the food cooperative and planned to serve that as well.

To start, I got a chimney full of lump charcoal going.

PXL_20210508_212619533.jpg

I then set up a two-zone grill area by piling the charcoal on one side of the grill to create a hot zone, leaving a “cold” zone directly opposite of it in the grill.

The ribeyes were seasoned with salt and pepper.

PXL_20210508_215850994.jpg

The corn was seasoned with salt, pepper, and olive oil.

PXL_20210508_215844500.jpg

Away we go!

I threw the ribeyes on the cold side once the grill was properly warmed up, and covered the grill.

PXL_20210508_221436265.jpg

I let the meat go for 8 minutes, took a quick temperature reading (I was shooting for 110 F), and then threw meat on the hot side to sear. I try to get our steaks to medium rare.

PXL_20210508_222309261.jpg

I then placed the corn on the cold side, thinking I’d shoot for about 12 – 15 minutes of cooking time.

Yum…one thing I appreciate about grass-fed, prairie-fed beef is the smell it gives when it cooks. There is a sweet oil smell in the air when you grill up grass-fed proteins. I prefer this style to the conventional corn-fed beef, to be honest.

After 2 minutes, I flipped the steaks to sear the other side.

PXL_20210508_222526695.jpg

After two minutes of additional searing, I then moved the steaks back to the cold side and transferred the corn to the hot side to give the corn grill marks.

PXL_20210508_222817701 (1).jpg

Around 20 minutes all in, I then took everything off to transfer to an eventual dinner plate.

PXL_20210508_223434611.jpg

We added a side dish of spinach and pasta, and dinner was complete! Liza and Hattie opted for some cheesecake for dessert; I went the way of another IPA. I do like those IPAs for dessert.

As always, thanks for stopping by...and let me know if you cook ribeyes or steak in a different fashion. I'm always open to new ideas and feedback. Until next time, long live foodies!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency