Choco Banana Cake with Chocolate Chips

20210325_004359_0000.png

I've been told that baking is an exact science. Baking, according to the cooking show contestants I watched leaves no room for errors. If you mess the measurements on any ingredients, the only way to find out is to see the finished product after you've baked it. By the time you realized you got it wrong, you've already wasted your time and your ingredients. That's why I steer away from baking.

Banana cake has always been our little family's favorite food. But then our banana cake seller suddenly stopped selling. We tried other sellers but there's nothing like our suki's banana cake. We missed eating banana cake so much and so I attempted to bake one.

Since this is my first time baking, I used this recipe to guide me. I modified it a bit because my daughter wants chocolate and my husband wants chocolate chips. I know that I should follow the recipe exactly as it is but I want to start taking risks. Why not start with baking, right?

20210325_064934_0000.png

Ingredients

3pcs overripe bananas, mashed
1 1/2 cup all purpose flour
1/2 cup cocoa
1/2 cup cooking oil
1 tsp salt
1tsp vanilla essence
1 cup muscovado sugar
2 pcs eggs
1tsp baking soda
1 dark chocolate bar, chopped

Process

Mix all the dry ingredients until they are evenly distributed. Add the mashed banana, eggs, cooking oil and vanilla. Add the dark chocolate chips last. Mix thorougly and ensure there are no lumps.

I don't have a deep baking pan so I used the wide baking pan that came with the oven. Line it up with baking sheet. Pour in the mix and distribute evenly all over the pan.

Preheat the convection oven to 150°C. Bake the mix for 15 minutes. Remove pan from oven, let cool for a few minutes before serving. You can serve it right away but it's also good when chilled.

IMG_20210318_2004431388000065.jpg

Being that this is my first time baking (honestly, this is the first time I used bakinh soda for baking, I've only used it for cleaning before), there are a few things I learned and would try out the next time I try this again.

  • Since I added half a cup of cocoa, I would try adding one more ripe banana to the mixed.
  • The temperature is fine, that was just an experiment, it turned out fine so I'll do it again. The time though would need to be adjusted to around 18-20 minutes. I did thw toothpick test on this one but I think it could do a little bit more time.
  • The chocolate chips hardened when the cake was refrigerated so I guess it is best served warm if you want slightly softer chocolate bits. Cold isn't that bad either.


@romeskie is a full-time stay at home mom juggling homeschooling, crocheting, and homemaking. A Business Administration graduate with a major in Marketing who ended up in the contact center industry, on the frontlines, climbing her way up to Workforce Management where she found her passion in real-time analysis and management. A once self-proclaimed careerwoman who soon realized homemaking was her real calling. Her passion varies from reading, writing, photography, and most of all, crocheting.

Connect with her through her Facebook Page: The Leftie Crocheter and on Instagram. Feel free to subscribe to her Youtube Channel: The Leftie Crocheter


Big thanks to @bearone for my Hive PH badge.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
24 Comments
Ecency