Shrimp with Coconut shreds 🍤🥥 | Flavors from Bangladeshi Cuisine.

collage.jpg

This curry recipe I learned from my Grandma. She was the one expert on this. Whenever I cook this, I go back to my childhood, can see her old stove; it always reminds me of her memories, how she used to prepare the dish.

My Grandma was my caregiver too, so my childhood is filled with her memories. I will talk about her some other day.

Today, let me share this recipe. I know, I didn't make it perfect like the original one. But coconut and shrimp; these two ingredients are so flavourful, it makes the curry delicious.

First we need to fry the shrimp with some salt in vegetable oil.

IMG_20210513_193405.jpg

Then it's time to shred the coconut.

IMG_20210513_194712.jpg

Then, we need to prepare/cook the spices.

IMG_20210513_195019.jpg

Add onion, a very small amount of garlic and ginger paste, mixed spice powder, turmeric, and salt. Cook it in vegetable oil for at least 15 minutes, add water if necessary.

When the spice is done, add the shredded coconut.

IMG_20210513_195434.jpg

In this stage, we don't have to add any more water, just cook the saute the coconut for a while.

IMG_20210513_195733.jpg

When the water will be reduced, add the shrimp. You can add tomatoes also. And then some green chili and a spoon full of sugar.

IMG_20210513_223404.jpg

IMG_20210513_223409.jpg

It will look like this, ready to serve.

Shrimp is one of my favorites, I usually add this to mixed vegetable curry, to my noodles, and even sometimes with pasta. To me, shrimp makes everything better.

If you never heard of this recipe, I would suggest your try it. It's flavourful and will add something different to your taste buds. It goes very well with steamed rice and roti/bread.

Have a wonderful day, everyone!

Hive Steem Footer.gif

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments
Ecency