MOROCCO : A must visit for any real foodie out there in the world! PART 1

I can say that I've been super lucky to have had the chance to visit Morocco twice already!

If there was no pandemic, for sure I would have completed a 3rd visit...but we all know what's going on since 2020! I don't have a clear idea when things can get ok!!!

Anyway! If any of you foodies have plans to travel...and if you love celebrating food by discovering unique classic cuisine, if you are a real die hard foodie...

Then MOROCCO must definitely be your next destination!

During my 2 visits there - in the summer months - I spent each time 15 days of holidays in Morocco!
This was quite enough to travel around the country and discover the maximum of foods in the different regions!

Let me show you some photos of my last visit...back in 2019!

All photos...only with food around!!!

Enjoy!

img_20190806_205517.jpg

My wife, Mom and Me in Marrakech!

One of the things that striked me in Marrakech was their Oranges!!!

I've never ever tasted such sweet oranges elsewhere and they are well known for that!
I don't recall how much you pay for one long glass, but was quite cheap price.

Then around Jemaa El Fna, one of the main attraction of Marrakech, you will find so many amazing dishes...from steamed sheep's head to Tanjia and without forgetting the delicious tajines!

img_20190806_114012.jpg
My wife and my son Omar - He was still sooo small!


img_20190806_114017.jpg
My Mom enjoying her tajine in Marrakech!


One day, I was invited at a wedding in Casablanca! I definitely attended the wedding mainly to experience the occasion on the food side!Lol! Yeah...I'm like that...food first, always!

What a feast at that wedding! Unfortunately, I don't have too many photos of this one, I was busy enjoying the yummy foods!

Below is my father in law and his brother at the wedding with a huge plate of Chicken with lemon and olives!

img_20190804_211425.jpg


And the sweets given during the wedding ceremony...simply WOW!!!

Baklava was there, Ghoribas with almond...Gazelle Horns...different cookies! Served with the Moroccan Mint Tea - Always present at all tables!

img_20200310_015538.jpg


And once we go to someone's place...this is what is waiting for you once you are in...

Pure olive oil / Dates / Almond / Mixed Nuts / Dried Fruits / Pistachio
Homemade bread / a special dip made of argan oil, almonds and honey!

img_20190804_162329_1.jpg


Each morning, I was admiring all the different food sellers from my window...

Just look at that freshness of veggies...and the varieties and the price! Only in Morocco!

From my point of view, Morocco has an abundance of amazing products...that's why they are ranked among the best cuisines in the whole world!

img_20190803_100057_edit_695843262046947.jpg


img_20200114_002608.jpg
My wife's cousin showing us the figs around his house!


The street foods also are delicious...One day, I decided to just walk around - it was around 8pm, was not yet dark!
I found someone very busy selling a unique type of sandwich...with tripes!!!

I said to myself...Why not!

Ordered a portion and enjoyed it right there on the road...

Unique experience indeed!

The seller was so good to me and as he saw that I was from another country and showing interest in his food...while my sandwich was getting ready, he offered the below for me to taste for free!

Tripe like in a curry, 2 homemade grill sausages and a piece of bread!
img_20190802_211528.jpg


And here's my tripe sandwich and bone marrow...Delicious!!!

img_20190802_212122.jpg


Fish and Seafood heaven!!!

I can't recall how many times I ate fish and seafood during my stay...

Perfectly fried calamaris from a restaurant in Casablanca!

img_20190803_141140.jpg


And here's my daughter, Rheem with a huge seafood platter in front of her!

Freshness at it's level best...

img_20190805_141253_edit_695823329744866.jpg


At the sea, where fishermen disembark, you can find fish/seafood and ask the guys to clean and grill for you...

img_20200921_113906.jpg


I can continue writing and this post gonna be too long...I still have a lot to share on my foodie experience in Morocco...I think I'll make different parts!

So here we go for part 1 my dearest friends!

Ps.This is simply a glimpse of why you should visit Morocco specially if you are a real foodie and loves discovering new things in your life!

Stay tuned for the next part!
Wish you well!
@progressivechef
hive_11_.gif

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency