Craving Afang šŸ²

Hi foodies, hope you've been doing great? .....
I'm glad to be back here again today with a blog on the preparation of a Nigerian dish. This soup originated from the south-south part of Nigeria called Cross Rivers state, it is popularly known as Afang or Okazi soup and it's currently my best soup, since I was feeling a bit under the weather the past few days, I decided to make it as a treat to myself and this is how it went.

Ingredients
  • Meat
  • Onions
  • Okazi leaf šŸŒæ
  • Waterleaf
  • Dry fish (and/or stockfish)
  • Salt and seasoning cubes
  • Fresh pepper šŸŒ¶ļø
  • Crayfish šŸ¦
  • Palm oil (aka red oil)
Preparation

First, I washed the Waterleaf with salt, washed the dry fish and removed the bones, I also steamed the meat with two seasoning cubes and salt, diced the onions.

After washing and steaming, I put a clean pot on the fire and added the Waterleaf inside the pot with a cup of water, I also added the onion, pepper and dry fish and stirred.

I let it boil for a while and add my meat and meat stock and stir, after boiling for some time, I add my Okazi leaf, seasoning cubes, salt and crayfish. Also, it is said that preparing this soup with a wooden spatula is better than spoon and after putting the Okazi leaf, it's not good to stir immediately (both reasons, I've forgotten šŸ˜…).

The Okazi leaf takes a while to soft so I let it boil very very well before adding the palm oil as the last ingredient.

After boiling very well, I tasted it to make sure all ingredients and seasoning blends in well and voila šŸ˜Œ.

The aroma of this dish is just beautiful and I can't get enough of it, it can be taken with eba (cassava flour), semo or pounded yam.

Thanks for visiting my blog ā¤ļøāœŒšŸ½
ā¤ļø&šŸ•Æļø

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
19 Comments
Ecency