Ginger Cookies for New Year 🍪

Hello friends, I want to wish everyone a Happy New Year 2024! I want to dedicate my first post of the new year to a delicious recipe! Today we are going to make some amazing ginger cookies. I've had this cookie recipe for a very long time and I make them every winter! I found the recipe on Karolina K's YouTube channel about four years ago. She has a lot of interesting content, but in Russian. So, today I'm going to share a delicious cookie recipe here on my blog! Let's get started!

13.jpg




To make ginger cookies we will need:



1.jpg

  • 75 g of sugar

  • 125 g of butter (room temp)

  • 1 egg

  • 100 gr honey

  • 375 gr flour + additional flour for rolling out the dough = about 500 gr total.

  • 1 tsp baking soda

  • ½ tsp baking powder

  • 1 tsp cinnamon

  • 2 tsp ginger

  • 1 tsp nutmeg

  • 1 tsp cloves (I don't like cloves, so I didn't add any)




STEP 1

Prepare the necessary products to make the cookies.

STEP 2

Combine butter and sugar in a deep bowl and mix until smooth.

2.jpg


3.jpg




STEP 3

Next, add the honey and egg. Also mix well using a whisk or mixer.

4.jpg




STEP 4

Sift the flour through a sieve into the dough. I recommend pouring the flour in portions. It will be easier to mix the dough. Add baking soda and baking powder. Then mix the dough thoroughly.

5.jpg




STEP 5

Add nutmeg, ginger and cinnamon to the dough. These components affect not only the taste, but also the smell. Believe me, you've never had more flavorful cookies.

6.jpg




STEP 6

Knead the dough well with your hands and form a ball. Put the dough in a plastic bag or wrap it in food wrap and put it in the refrigerator for 2-3 hours.

7.jpg




STEP 7

Our dough is ready! It has turned as hard as a rock. I suggest to divide the dough into 2 pieces. This way it will warm up faster and will be ready for manipulations with it. So, sprinkle flour on the work surface and also powder the dough and the rolling pin with flour. Start rolling out the dough.

8.jpg


9.jpg




STEP 8

Since it's winter, I found appropriate cookie molds: teddy bear, bunny, angel, Christmas tree, star. It looks really cute. With the molds, I press the dough through and I get cookie pieces like this.

10.jpg


11.jpg




STEP 9

Using a kitchen spatula, I transfer the cookie pieces to a baking tray lined with baking paper. Also, take care that the cookies are not too thin, otherwise thin dough will tear and it will be impossible to transfer them to the baking tray.

12.jpg




STEP 10

The final step! We send the cookies to a preheated 180 °C (356 °F) oven for 5-9 minutes. It all depends on your cookies (how thin they are) and your oven. Watch the cookies carefully in the oven so they don't burn.

13.jpg




14.jpg


Our cookies are ready! The aroma spreads all over the kitchen..... This is the real smell of winter and New Year's holidays that we all love so much! Cooking these cookies took me almost 2.5 hours, but I really enjoyed the process. I wish you a Happy New Year, success and joy! See you soon friends, bye-bye!

That's it! I hope you enjoyed the recipe and will share your thoughts in the comments! I wish you all delicious meals and good mood. Enjoy your food and see you again, friends. Bye-bye!

How do you like this recipe? Don't forget to tell us in the comments 👩‍🍳



👩‍🍳If you'd like to see more of my recipes, check out the ones I've already cooked!👩‍🍳



norwaylife banner.jpg

To see our introduceyourself post click here to learn about us more!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now