Food tour of random places in Novi Sad, Serbia

After sharing a lot of food related posts lately, this will probably be the last one for now, at least when it comes to Novi Sad dining. In this post I will sum up some of the places Mirai and I visited - from a nice restaurant to street food. So let's start...


Cafe Veliki

Cafe Veliki had great reviews and ratings so we thought it's worth visiting. It is a very cute place with interesting interior design details and probably the most unique menu as they provide some interesting/fun facts about Novi Sad and Vojvodina which I really liked. A big downside of Cafe Veliki was that the service was SO slow, we were waiting for our food for almost an hour and it wasn't even crowded. I got the chicken salad and Mirai got a pork dish that I forgot the name of and we both agreed it was average. I definitely wouldn't recommend coming here if you're already super hungry, lol.



3.jpg


Project 72 Wine and Deli

4.jpg

Ranked #1 on Tripadvisor app, this restaurant was a must visit and it was located just few minutes away from where we were staying. The ambiance is so amazing and I regret not taking photos of it but it was full and I didn't feel comfortable taking photos while it was crowded. Since Project 72 is well known as a wine bar as well, we had a glass of white wine recommended by the waiter. We shared spinach spring rolls as an appetizer and they tasted incredible! For my main dish I had ravioli, Mirai had foie gras tortellini and we shared eggplant with feta cheese and cherry tomatoes. Mirai really liked his tortellini and I would say my ravioli was good but not the best. Overall, I would still recommend visiting Project 72 for ambiance and food!


CHicken CHill

Even though we enjoyed dinner dates at some of the nicest restaurants in Novi Sad, we also had a lot of street food or just more common, typical local food. CHicken CHill is a small place that Mirai went to by himself first and absolutely loved it so we went back together one more time! We had Kiki chicken - French fries with chicken, peanuts and peanut sauce on top. Pretty simple but so tasty!


Buregdzinica Liman

In one of our conversations Mirai told me that he never tried burek even though he visited Serbia multiple times so we made it mission to find a good burek place where he can try it. Buregdzinica Liman had great reviews and for a good reason - their cheese and meat burek were amazing! Of course, yogurt is a must with burek and here in Serbia yogurt is actually drinkable, it's not thick as Greek yogurt for example.


Koliba - burek ispod saca

Since Mirai's first burek experience was a success and he really liked it, we decided to try out another place with good ratings so to Koliba we went. This time we ordered meat burek and spinach with cheese combination and we shared them as we do a lot of times when we want to try different food at the same place. Usually in Serbia a piece of burek comes in a triangle shape but Koliba serves burek a little bit differently, they bake it in a spiral shape and have their own signature topping (similar to yogurt) you can add over burek. I had a little bit of it just to try it but I should have gone for it as it was incredibly good. Spinach and cheese burek was so-so but the meat one was a total winner and I would highly recommend it! Definitely coming back for more! :)


Chinese food and Gyros

We had Chinese food and Gyros so many times but here are two photo examples of how it looked like. Chinese food is some of Mirai's favorite and he knows traditional Chinese food very well so he told me this is not authentic Chinese food but us Serbians still love it and he really liked it too! I usually get rice or noodles as a base, chicken with veggies or some other chicken mix and a must for me which is sweet&spicy fried chicken. When it comes to Gyros, we can actually find very good, authentic ones and my favorite place is probably Giromania and the one at the stadium area where I took this photo.


Carigrad confectionery

For our sweet tooth craving, we went to one of the oldest confectioneries in Novi Sad near the city center. We were mainly on a hunt for good baklava but when we came to Carigrad, we decided once again to get two different pieces of cakes so we can share them. The chocolate one was delicious as well but baklava was definitely a winner - probably the best I have tried. Baklavas are usually super sweet desserts, sometimes even too sweet but this one has a perfect amount of sweetness for my liking! It's definitely one of those places where I would gladly go back and recommend to my friends to visit.


Thank you for coming along on this food journey of Novi Sad, I hope you liked it and you'll get a chance to visit some of these places and enjoy great food!

banner.png

All photos are mine taken with Samsung Galaxy S6 Edge

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency