My mom's khichdi recipe in a simple way

welcome to my blog again. I'm so glad that you are here. Today after a long time i continue my series good food good mood , where I'm going to share 55th recipe.

🤍🤍🤍🤍🤍



Today i would like to share the recipe of most healthy and light food : khichdi.

Some days ago i shared the recipe of masala khichdi, where i used some veggies to make the khichdi. But today I'll present a very simple, quick and easy method to make khichdi. There are many ways to meke this healthy food.

This is my mom's recipe, I think this is one of the fastest recipe, which you can ready in less time with less efforts and minimum ingredients .

khichdi is India's comfort food which we love to have at dinner time. Earlier in my childhood, I did not value Khichdi that much. But now since I came to know about its nutrients, I like to eat Khichdi twice a week in different styles. We can make khichdi in presure Cooker with rice, lentils and some herbs & veggies.

🤍🤍🤍🤍🤍



Let's enjoy a simple way to making this comfort food 😀

CousineCourse
Indiandinner
Soaking timecooking time
2 hours15 minutes

INGREDIENTS ✅

  • Rice 1/2 cup
  • Moong dal 1/4 cup
  • Peeled mung beens 1/4 cup
  • Salt 1 tbsp
  • Turmeric powder 1/2 tbsp
  • Ghee 1 tbsp
  • Cumin seeds 1 tsp
  • Asofoedita one pinch

Here you can see the main ingredients image.

PROCESS ✅

Step 1 :

First we have to mix rice and lentils and soak them for 2 hours.

First when i upload the recipe i used peeled mung beens and rice in equal quantity. I didn't soak them. But my mom always soak lentils and rice.

Aftet 2 hours rice and lentils looks like that :

In 2 hours i went to market and after i cooked the khichdi 😜.

Step 2 :

After 2 hours wash the lentils and rice 2-3 times . Take a cooker , heat 1 tbsp ghee , add cumin seeds, asofoedita.

When the seeds start to crackle i add salt and turmeric powder and instant add soaked rice and lentils. Which you can see in the images.

Now add 4 times more water and cook till the 3-4 whistle.

Within 15 minutes khichdi is ready to enjoy.

We can enjoy it with kaddi, aloo bhaji ( potato ) and some morw veggies. Some like to have papad with it.
This time i enjoyed it with potato okra. Okra combination was the first time I tried it and I found it to be really average. I love to have simple khichdi with kaddi and papad.

🤍🤍🤍🤍🤍



This is really a super , tasty , quick and comforting food. Try it and let me know in the comment section.

Thank you so much for your time, support and love 🤍🌸

@mysteriousroad 🙏🇮🇳

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
46 Comments
Ecency