Exotic Dishes at Tanjag Camp Cafe

What's up for dinner tonight, Foodies?

Being away from my mom makes me go crazy thinking about what to eat for the next meal. I don't like to eat the same foods every meal except for rice. I wanted to have a variety. Speaking of variety, today I will share with you various exotic foods that I have tried when we visited a local resto in some town North.

IMG_20220828_172816.jpg
Tanjag Camp Cafe

The cafe's name means"famous". Tanjag is a modification of Tanyag. The owner just replaced "y" with "j" as we prefer it to use in our dialect. The owner is a former manager of a famous fast-food chain. She decided to resign from her job and put up her cafe where she can help give jobs to the locals.

IMG_20220828_174258.jpg

The cafe offers alfresco dining. It gives a historic aura. It's like you are somewhere else. It isn't the typical cafe. The owner provided nice areas for the customers without spending too much. While waiting for the food we ordered, I played sungka with my workmate. I'm not familiar with how to play the game but he insisted that he'd helped me.

IMG_20220828_174316.jpg
Played Sungka with my Workmate

IMG_20220828_175854.jpg
Eel Curry and Edible Fern

The eel recipe was specially prepared by the owner. She got no other chef but herself. She wants to have a touch of every dish that she serves. The eel came from the river. She bought it from the locals and then the edible fern was picked by the locals too. The locals are her supplier. She makes money while helping other people earn at the same time.

20220903_213013.jpg
Crispy Fried Frog

The highlight is the crispy fried frog. It's from the river too. I refused to eat it my workmate said it tasted like chicken. After an hour of convincing, I finally had a bite. Truly, it tasted like chicken. At that moment, I ticked off another bucket list.

The restaurant offered more exotic foods and Peking Duck. Unfortunately, my phone's battery died early preventing me from taking photos of the other dishes. It was a fun experience. The cafe is located in the mountainous part of the town. Still, people flock there to try the exotic foods they served.

Thanks for reading. Until then.

*All the photos are mine.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now