Shrimp, Summer Squash and Tomato sauce Linguine Pasta | one version of Zucchine e Gamberi

Hello foodies,

Both me and my son (4.5y old) are in love with shrimps.
I prefer them with pasta most of the times. I chose them very often if they're on the menu when we go out.
And it happened sometimes that me and Caleb shared a shrimp&pasta portion and I ended up only with pastaπŸ˜πŸ™„πŸ˜ͺ. And yet, I still adore him, even though he eats all my shrimps. πŸ˜‹β€οΈ

Caleb asked me to make some shrimp pasta one day and the next day I already bought the shrimp.
But it took me another few days until I cooked them. πŸ˜…
They turned delicious!!


20230712_165323.jpg


We have lots of tomatoes in the garden, big juicy "fleshy" tomatoes. πŸ…πŸ…πŸ…
And I had two of these already in the fridge. So one day (a very busy one) I came home from some place, took out the tomatoes and I thought: "This is the day for shrimp pasta.!!
My boys agreed! πŸ˜…πŸ’―πŸ’―

I'm sorry I didnt take photos while cooking, but I was on the rush and we were so sooo hungry.
In 30 minutes,this was on the table. So photos were excluded that moment. When hunger strikes in, you're not thinking of taking photos. 😁

Also, we have TOO MANY summmer squash in the garden, so I added those in the recipe too! Then I realized I'm cooking a version of gamberi y zucchine pasta, aka Shrimp and Zucchini Pasta.

I didnt search for a recipe. There was no time, and plus I only had tomatoes and parmesan cheese and these I wanted to use.


Here are the ingredients:

  • shrimp
  • zucchini/summer squash
  • linguine pasta
  • 2 big tomatoes
  • 4-5 garlic cloves
  • olive oil/butter
  • parmesan cheese
  • fresh basil leaves
  • dried basil, salt and pepper

20230712_164628.jpg
(this is the only photo I took during the cooking process)

Instructions

In a large pot, put pasta to boil according instructions.

Then everything happens in one skillet.
Put shrimps, garlic and summer squash (unpeeled) in hot butter/olive oil (I used both) and cook them on medium-high.
Season with salt and pepper.

When they're ready, transfer them in a bowl and set them aside.
In the same skillet, add tomatoe cubes and basil leaves. Cook the tomatoes until they become like a sauce consistency. That takes around 20 min. Add dried basil and parmesan cheese.

Add again the summer squash and shrimp.
Add boiled pasta. Complete with 2-5 Tbsp water from the pasta if needed. But you should have enough sauce from tomatoes as they are very juicy.

Serve with parmesan on top. Enjoy!

20230712_165321.jpg

They were amazing! Refreshing and delicious are the best words to describe it!

You can replace linguine pasta with spaggheti, fussili, penne, fetucine etc.

You can add fresh basil leaves too if you want.


How about you? Do you eat shrimp pasta? Is this a recipe you cook often? Is there anyone in your family to not like shrimp? Do you have a favorite recipe using shrimp? Would you try this recipe?

Stay safe,
Missdeli ❀️

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
16 Comments
Ecency