Trying Hivean Recipe : My First Time Making Arepas Andean Arepa With Smoked Beef and Mayonnaise

After posting my Comfort Food Recipe, I went to check Foodies bee hive content. Then, the feed shows a content from @freidimar18 with her Arepas With Avocado and caraota. I have been having this idea to try Hivean recipes and test their recipe. Oh yeah, if I try your recipe, I am sharing 5% of this content reward with you.

I saw many people cook arepas. Even when I first started my journey here, I saw charities and people from Venezuela distributing Arepas. But well, only today I get to try this food.

As far as I know, arepa is made from corn flour but according to @freidimar18, the arepa in her region use all purpose flour.

will share one of my favorite dishes as it is the Arepa Andina (originally from the states of Merida, Tachira and Trujillo) knowing that it is based on a type of arepa that usually in Venezuelan cuisine is made with corn flour, while the Andean arepa is made with bread flour (wheat).

So, Let's get into the cooking lab!


image.png

Line_Break2.png



Ingredients


  • 120gr all purpose flour
  • 50 ml warm water
  • 1 egg
  • 20gr butter
  • 1 tbsp mayo
  • A pinch of salt

I modified her quantities because It's only me who'll eat it. 220gr looks a bit too much for me.

Line_Break2.png


Directions


image.pngarepa1.jpgarepa3.jpgarepa4.jpg
arepa5.jpgarepa6.jpgarepa8.jpg
  • Add all the ingredients together and knead the dough.
  • Let it rest for 30 minutes to an hour.
  • Make rounds from it and then roll it with rolling pin.
  • If you want to make pretty arepas, give it a fork touch.
  • Fry it on a skillet for 5 minutes until it changes the color.
  • Slice the arepa, fill it with smoked beef or pork, then give it mayo.
  • Your arepas are ready!

Line_Break2.png

Note from Mac

First of all, I don't know if it is should be burned or not. Second, I was wondering if you need oil to fry the arepas. Third, I made a mess making this arepa. Props to people who cook arepas in the morning. Fourth, how do you know if the arepa is cooked inside? how can you check it? I guess that's all the note from me and don't forget to rate my arepas if you're from venezuela or countries that eat arepas. See you in my next cooking lab! I'll be looking our for another hivean recipe to try!

~ Mac

Line_Break2.png

Mac covers technology, philosophy, nootropics, books, productivity, minimalist lifestyle, cybersecurity,, and languages. Other than those, she is passionate about cooking and travel. In her free time, she enjoys learning various things. Hive is the only social media and blog that she has.
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
23 Comments
Ecency