This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

Brewing Coffee with a V60

Since I left my french press at my apartment and will have no access to the next couple of months, I decided to get a brewing tool. I initially wanted to buy another french press, but my mom talked me out of it and made me choose the v60. In all honestly, I wanted everything on that shelf. I wanted v60, Vietnam dripper, Moka pot, and Chemex. I wanted just about every tool needed to brew a great cup of joe. But of course because limited budget, I can only choose one.

20210120_162405removebgpreview.png

When I first dived into the coffee world, I could only afford a french press and a low-quality ground coffee. I get by with it because I spend a lot of time at the coffee shop to taste a better quality, even higher quality coffee beans. However, financially, it was not sustainable for the longer term. So I started sampling some beans and the one that I can afford that time is beans from Exelso. They are relatively in the mid-range price. For now, I don't want to be cheap with my coffee since it affects the taste of it.

Line_Break2.png

So, Why a V60?

Before going into the store, I was browsing some brewing tools. I read that a pour-over method is complicated and requires some skill. For a beginner like me, it seemed daunting. For that reason alone, I decided to pick a simple, low effort method of brewing a coffee, the french press. But, since my mom talked me out of buying it because I already have one at my apartment, I choose that one. In terms of price, a v60 is also cheaper than french press which is why my mom talked me into buying that instead of the french press.

In terms of ease of use, French Press is easier. All you need to do with a french press is pour water and sip it. Meanwhile, with a V60, you have to pour the water slowly, and it requires more prep than a french press. However, a V60 has a cleaner result when it comes to a result, meaning no silt gets into the cup.

20210120_162439removebgpreview.png

Line_Break2.png

What do you need to make a coffee with a V60 other than water and coffee?

  • A bottled neck kettle
  • paper filter

Honestly making a good cup of coffee with a v60 is challenging. For instance, you need to directly pour the water from the kettle without transferring to another kettle. To me, it's a bit impossible since I don't have aluminium bottled neck kettle. I only have ceramic bottled neck kettle which is quite ancient. Also a tip that can work to enhance a bad coffee is adding a sprinkle of salt in the mixture. But again, don't add too much otherwise it will ruin your coffee experience.

Line_Break2.png

How do you brew a coffee with a V60?

20210119_170924removebgpreview.png20210119_170903removebgpreview.png

Ideally, it would be best if you had a clear glass to know the measurement. But if you don't have it, you can use any glass.

  • Pour the ground coffee into the paper filter.
  • Slowly pour the water into the paper.
  • After 3 minutes, add more water and pour it slowly.
  • Enjoy the cup of clear and smoother coffee.

Many factors contribute to a great cup of coffee. A skilled brewer would have all the tools to ensure the precise water temperature, a digital scale for the ground coffee's right measure and an understanding of varies of coffee.

But for beginners and if you want to ease your way into the coffee world, start small. You can start by knowing all types of tools, brewing method, coffee to water ration and finally the coffee varieties. In the end, it will come back into your preference. You can't say you don't like something before you tried it 😉.

~ Mac

Line_Break2.png

Mac covers technology, philosophy, nootropics, books, productivity, minimalist lifestyle, cybersecurity,, and languages. Other than those, she is passionate about cooking and travel. In her free time, she enjoys learning various things. Hive is the only social media and blog that she has.