I'm Not Too Old To Have A Cute Birthday Cake

WhatsApp Image 2021-10-11 at 00.18.00.jpeg
So, I turn 28 yesterday! After a decade, I finally can celebrate it with my family. I thought 28 is old enough to not hold a crazy party or even to have a cake, I want to pass it just like a mature human who thinks that birthday is just like a normal day.

I even working on my birthday. It's the weekend, it's my birthday, but I'm working like hell.

untitled.gif

Source: here

But, my brother actually bought a cake

My friend comes to my house because I asked her to go to an interview with me. And my mother suddenly calling me from the kitchen. And here it is: A BLUE CAKE ON THE TABLE.

I almost laugh because I really didn't expect any cake. And this is not just a cake, it's DORAEMON CAKE! DORAEMON! For my 28 birthday!

WhatsApp Image 2021-10-11 at 00.17.57.jpeg

I don't know what happened with his mouth. And is it a mouse on his necklace?

Anyway, here is my brother's conversation with the bakery staff:

My brother: I want to buy a birthday cake.
Bakery staff: Okay, which one do you like?
My brother: That blue one, the Doraemon, please.
Bakery staff: Oh it's for kiddo, then. So, how old she/he is?
My brother: It's 28...
Bakery staff: (laughing). I'm sorry, I thought it's for a kindergartener's birthday. Do you want to write something on this cake?
My brother: Just write the name, please.

WhatsApp Image 2021-10-11 at 00.17.59.jpeg

And here we go, they write one of my popular names: Ochi. Actually, they are so many ways to called me. But Ochi and Akai is the most "popular" way to called me.

Well, thank God they only write my name, not my lucky number. It would be more awkward to see the "28" on this cake.

THE TASTE

My parents live in a small village on Java Island. I never expected that this small village has a great bakery that makes a super good quality cake.

It's sweet, but not too much. The cake is moist. It's a chocolate cake and we can taste the strong chocolate flavour (but again, not too sweet).

The cheap cake mostly has a weird and fatty cream texture. I don't like it because the fat would stay in your mouth for a while. But this cake has a good cream's texture. It's light and not fatty. And again and again, it's not too sweet. I love the balance.

The decoration is also good. I mean, we know that it's Doraemon, right? Even I still wondering about the mouth part, but it's okay. It was like seeing a sewn mouth.

The most important is: I can feel the love from every bite on this cake

I know the bakery shop (because this village only has one bakery). I ever bought a black forest cake with the same size as this cake, and it's only cost Rp55.000 or around $3.86. So I strongly believe that this cake cost under Rp100.000 or under $5.

It's a good deal with this price. Anyway this cake is big enough to be eaten by my parents, my brother, my gramps, my cousin, my uncle, me, and two friends of me.

THE OTHER MEMORABLE CAKE FROM MY [past] BIRTHDAY

1654071_260699947426981_1361311053_n.jpg

I found this picture on my SNS. This is me on my five birthday! The cake is actually not a cake. It's compressed boiled cassava that shaped like a birthday cake, and given a sprinkling of grated coconut, then given a candle.

The background story is at that time Indonesia and many other's countries were dealing with monetary crises. Everything was incredibly expensive. That was very hard for us, especially for middle-to-poor people to have a "cozy and easy" life. But my parents still want to hold a birthday party for me.

I was at my friend's house at that time. My mother asked my older brother to bring me home. I was super excited because I know, that day is my birthday. As a "golden kid" I always celebrate my birthday and had lots of gifts from my friends and family.

I really appreciate that even in hard times, my family always tried their best to makes me happy. From the cassava cake to the Doraemon cake, I feel blessed that I was born into this sweet and warm family.

Ps: being 28 is not as easy as I thought because everyone keeps asking me about "when you will get married?" If you know someone who is single and looking for a creative, attractive, and crazy's partner to live with, please tell me lol.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
13 Comments
Ecency