Upma

For now, I am giving my freezer a break. It is half empty with my previous almost a week freezer challenge. With the leftovers from meals, I think I can do about 3 weeks if I had live mainly off my freezer. I want to change my freezer strategy going forward. I will mainly freeze lentils, beans, and cooked spinach and berries. That is what I eat mostly. I want to start making rotis and parathas more on a regular basis for this month.

But today, I made some upma.

Ingredients:
Roasted semolina - 1 cup
Channa Dal - 1 teaspoon
Urad Dal - 1 teaspoon
curry leaf - a little
crushed ginger - 1/4 teaspoon
Asafoetida - a pinch
onions - 1 diced
green chili - 1
vegetable of your choice. Today I use carrot and tomato that I wanted to use up.
lemon juice

img_3158

img_3160

Heat oil in a pan. As always, I use coconut oil. Add mustard seeds. Once it splutters add channa dal, Urad dal, asafoetida and curry leaf.

img_3161

Once the channa dal and Urad dal turn slightly brown, add onion and green chili.

img_3162

Add carrot and tomatoes and once it softens, add 4 cups of hot water and the 1 cup semolina.

img_3163

img_3164

img_3167

Add salt. and lemon juice. Cover and cook for 10 - 12 minutes on low flame.

img_3168

And that's it. Its ready to eat.

img_3172

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency