This is my little pastry shop.. Sugar Design!

IMG-2295.jpg

Hi Foodies Bee Hive Community! I want to tell all of you something .. I already mentioned in my #IntroduceYourself that I love baking and making sweets, and I want to share with you some of the recipes that I make and love making, they are my favorites! But before that, let me tell you that I'm kind of a entrepeneur, something I started a few years ago (in 2019 to be exact) with my sister (we both love making sweets). It's a pastry shop that I've managed in a virtual way, that is, I bake at home and take the sweets to the place that the client orders. Its name is Sugar Design, the name was chosen by my sister, we always wanted something sophisticated, that would catch everyone's attention and wasn't common in our environment, so we decided on that name.

Hola! Quiero contarles algo.. ya les mencione que me encanta hornear y hacer dulces, y quiero compartir con ustedes algunas de las recetas que hago y amo hacer ¡son mis favoritas! Pero antes de eso, quiero contarles que tengo un emprendimiento, algo que empecé hace unos pocos años (en 2019 para ser exactos) con mi hermana (a las dos nos encanta hacer dulces). Es una pasteleria que la he manejado de manera virtual, es decir, horneo en mi casa y llevo los dulces al lugar que el cliente lo ordene. Su nombre es Sugar Design, el nombre lo escogió mi hermana, queríamos algo siempre y sofisticado, que llamara la atención de todos y que no fuera común en nuestro entorno, así que nos decidimos por ese nombre.

WhatsApp Image 2021-05-14 at 8.01.04 PM.jpeg

The next step was one of the hardest parts: creating a logo for the business. To tell the truth, we always try to do all the things (we even cut and paint our hair ourselves). So one day my sister sat down at the computer and used the canva.com website, it really helped us a lot. We made several logos and then finally we collected the winner, some modifications and voila, this was the result, simple, sober and elegant at the same time. One of the questions they ask us is why did we choose these colors? (brown and pink) .. the truth is we don't have any logical reason for this question, we just love pink, the only thing we knew when we started creating is that our brand should have pink, so we agreed on that, then we made several combinations: aquamarine, light blue, black, white ... Until we finally got to the color brown and we loved the combination of both colors, so we stuck with that.

El siguiente paso era una de las partes más difíciles: crear un logo para el negocio. A decir verdad, nosotras siempre intentamos hacer todas las cosas (incluso nos cortamos y pintamos el cabello nosotras mismas) . Así que un día mi hermana se sentó en la computadora y utilizó la página web canva.com, realmente nos sirvió muchísimo.. Realizamos varios logos y luego recogimos finalmente el ganador, algunas modificaciones y listo, este fue el resultado, sencillo, sobrio y elegante al mismo tiempo. Una de las preguntas que nos hacen es por qué escogimos estos colores? (marrón y rosado).. la verdad no tenemos ninguna razón lógica para esta pregunta, simplemente amamos el rosado, lo único que sabíamos al empezar a crear es que nuestra marca debía tener rosado, así que en eso estábamos de acuerdo, luego hicimos varias combinaciones: aguamarina, azul claro, negro, blanco.. Hasta que finalmente llegamos al color marrón y nos encantó la combinación de ambos colores, así que nos quedamos con eso.

IMG_20191217_150145_580.jpg

In our bakery we make all kinds of sweets: decorated cakes (it's my sister's specialty), donuts (my specialty), cookies, decorated cupcakes, brownies, chocolate bonbons and much more. My intention is to show you some of the recipes we make and the way we work.

We work at a very low price, with the intention of enjoying what we do and making ourselves known, the profits go to an envelope where we finally buy the things that are needed, and the rest we leave in the envelope or divide it in half if any of us needed. My favorite part is the decoration and the photography, I don't have a professional camera but with the edits I try my best to make it look that way.

En nuestra pastelería hacemos todo tipo de dulces: tortas decoradas (es la especialidad de mi hermana), donas, galletas, ponquecitos decorados, brownies, bombones de chocolate y muchas cosas más. Mi intención es mostrarles algunas de las recetas que hacemos y el modo en que trabajamos

Trabajamos a muy bajo precio, con la intención de disfrutar lo que hacemos y darnos a conocer, las ganancias van a un sobre donde finalmente compramos las cosas que hacen falta, y el restante lo dejamos en el sobre o lo dividimos a la mitad si alguna lo necesita. Mi parte favorita es la decoración y la fotografía, no tengo una cámara profesional pero con las ediciones hago el mejor intento de que así parezca

cupcake.png

We are also in charge of making the sweets for family gatherings (at no cost, of course) they give us the supplies and with that we make magic! As I already mentioned, my specialty is donuts and since they are the children's favorites, our focus is on that too.

Currently I have not been very active in my business, due to the pandemic and the online classes at the University (the online method seems to be more difficult than the on-site classes), but in a free time that I have I publish the sweets that I have available for that moment.

También somos las encargadas de hacer los dulces de las reuniones familiares (sin costo alguno, claro ) ellos nos dan los suministros y con eso hacemos magia!. Como ya les mencione, mi especialidad son las donas y como son las favoritas de los niños, nuestro enfoque también está en eso.

También somos las encargadas de hacer los dulces de las reuniones familiares (sin costo alguno, claro ) ellos nos dan los suministros y con eso hacemos magia!. Como ya les mencione, mi especialidad son las donas y como son las favoritas de los niños, nuestro enfoque también está en eso.

IMG_20191220_161739_467.jpg

Of course, when we started with this business we only made sweets for our acquaintances: cakes for the relatives of our friends (they asked us), sweets for a cousin's party ... Until little by little more people got to know each other and we made sweets for our friends' friends, who weren't our friends (sorry for the tongue twister lol). So little people got to know us more and our sweets became the favorites of many people (although I confess that I want to make my brand continue to grow), which filled us with a lot of emotion and motivated us to continue working to achieve what we We want so much: ¡to be the most famous pastry shop in the city!

Por supuesto, cuando empezamos con este negocio sólo hacíamos dulces para nuestros conocidos: tortas para los familiares de nuestros amigos (ellos nos lo pedían), dulces para la fiesta de algún primo,.. Hasta que poco a poco fue conociéndonos más personas y hacíamos dulces para los amigos de nuestros amigos, que no eran nuestros amigos (disculpen el trabalenguas jajaja). Así que poco las personas nos fueron conociendo más y nuestros dulces llegaron a ser los favoritos de muchas personas (aunque confieso que quiero hacer que mi marca siga creciendo), lo cual nos llenó de mucha emoción y nos motivó a seguir trabajando para lograr lo que tanto queremos: ser la pastelería mas famosa de la ciudad

bombones.png

Nowadays I run the business by myself, my sister is not with me because her life took a different turn from mine and I am very happy for her, but that was not an obstacle to stop doing what I like wich is to bake. .. I don't do it that often anymore because currently my time is limited, however, as I already mentioned, I don't miss any opportunity to offer my sweets and please the most demanding palates.

En la actualidad el negocio lo llevo yo sola, mi hermana no se encuentra conmigo porque su vida dio un giro diferente a la mía y me alegro mucho por ella, pero eso no fue obstáculo para dejar de hacer lo que me gusta que es hornear... Ya no lo hago con tanta frecuencia porque actualmente mi tiempo es limitado, sin embargo, como ya les mencioné, no pierdo ninguna oportunidad para ofrecer mis dulces y complacer a los paladares más exigentes.

brownies.png

I confess that, although I'm working on it from the comfort of my home, I do not deny that one day I would like to have my own establishment and be able to separate my home and personal life a bit from my work. I know that with the help of my parents I will continue with this project to grow my business and continue preparing to offer my clients the richest sweets in the city for an afternoon with friends with coffee (I am a coffee lover), for a meeting or for your most important events.

Confieso que, aunque esté trabajando en ella desde la comodidad de mi hogar, no niego que algún día quisiera tener mi propio establecimiento y poder separar un poco mi hogar y mi vida personal de mi trabajo. Sé que con ayuda de mis padres seguiré con este proyecto de hacer crecer mi negocio y seguir preparándome para ofrecerles a mis clientes los dulces mas ricos de la ciudad para una tarde entre amigas con café (soy amante del café), para una reunión o para sus eventos más importantes.

IMG_20200713_130908_098.jpg

So, I hope you enjoyed reading my story. Soon I will put the recipes that I like the most so that you can make them at home, I assure you that you will love them! I send you many greetings and hugs.

With love, Katy.

Así que, espero hayan disfrutado leer mi historia. Pronto les pondré las recetas que más me gustan para que las hagan en sus casas ¡les aseguro que les van a encantar! Les mando muchos saludos y abrazos.

Con amor, Katy

  • All images were taken and edited by me, using my Samsung Galaxy A5 2017 phone and Canva android App
  • The images were taken from my instagram account @sugardesign.ve follow me!
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now