Pork Bangers & Butternut, Bacon Bake

20210420_181327.jpg

If I had my way this title would have read "Bangers and Mash", but since I have been trying to lower my carb intake - traditional mash was just not going to come into fruition. Sure, I could have made sweet potato mash, but we had that just the other day - so I wanted to do something different.

I also bought a whole lot of butternut recently, so it made sense to do something with those. Butternut is a fair substitute for potato - and yes I could have just mashed it, but this REALLY simple dish was a lot tastier than plain mashed veg.

First of all I peeled and diced a few butternut. I also had some already peeled and cubed pumpkin so I thought I would put that to good use as well. Threw it all into a Pyrex oven dish and seasoned it with a little salt, finely ground black pepper, potato spice (because potato spice makes everything better) and then a little olive oil - then gave it a good toss!

20210420_165616.jpg

20210420_170240.jpg

20210420_170359.jpg

To that, I added some whole garlic cloves - skin on. I simply give them a crack with the side of a knife. Nothing beats whole roasted garlic and whenever I make them, I make sure I do a whole lot... because I am greedy, lol!

20210420_170620.jpg

20210420_170822.jpg

In the fridge was some left over fresh baby spinach, so I chopped that and added it to the dish. Next on the list was the natural star of the show... a pack of diced bacon which I sprinkled over the top. I popped that into the oven at 180 degrees Celsius for approx. 40 minutes and with the oven tray nearer the bottom of the oven.

20210420_171510.jpg

Essentially, you want the veg to be cooked through, but still slightly firm, the garlic perfectly roasted and the bacon juicy, but crispy. 45 minutes is just about perfect for that result. When that timer was up, I removed the dish and grated some white cheddar over the top and put it back into the oven for another 10 - 15 minutes.

That was it! Super simple, REALLY tasty, low carb and of course... BACON! I mean who doesn't want bacon with their bangers!!! I actually almost forgot to take a pic of the end result before it was completely devoured. Thankfully I remembered at the last second... so not the greatest photo I am afraid, lol - but this is all about the flavour anyway - and it really was a great accompaniment to the pork bangers. No, it was not mash... but it was still delicious and I will definitely make it again!

20210420_181311.jpg

20210420_181327.jpg

20210420_215336.jpg

Bon Appétit Peeps!

❤❤❤

Until next time...
Much Love from Cape Town, South Africa xxx
Jaynielea

ll.png

JOIN US ON DISCORD
SUBSCRIBE TO THE LIFESTYLE LOUNGE COMMUNITY HERE
JOIN US ON TWITTER


text15.png

ALL IMAGES ARE MY PROPERTY UNLESS OTHERWISE CREDITED

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
11 Comments
Ecency