My First Successful Bread Baking (A Newbie in Foodies Bee Hive)

Hello, foodie lovers of Hive!

Thanks for this wonderful community that allows us to showcase our cooking skills. I don't actually have that πŸ™ˆ because I'm just a trying-hard chef. This is, by the way, my first post on this community Foodies Bee Hive, and also my first time successfully baking bread.

Imagine the several attempts of baking bread, and I only got one successful product. It wasn't perfect, but at least, I improved a bit which was a great achievement for me, lol.

I love food even though I have gluten and lactose intolerance, but I only knew about it a few years ago. So before it happened, I truly loved food, especially making desserts. But despite these food intolerances, I continue eating bread and cakes, because why not? They are appetizing and irresistible.

And recently, I've been yearning for baking bread as I often make cakes and other desserts. Bread is kind've hard for me as it involves kneading and a plethora of effort and time. I did try before, the no kneading process, unfortunately, expectations versus reality truly have a huge difference. So all attempts failed and didn't meet my expectations. Then I stopped for a while as I became busier at work, and baking is just one of my hobbies when I have a lot of spare time.

So last Wednesday, I got more spare time and these Covid restrictions just make our life so boring. I thought of doing something good so I opted to buy the necessary ingredients in the morning and wait for the afternoon so I could start baking. The young Chinese lady at home helped me do the baking which made the process more fun as we kept on laughing.

So let me show you, my first baked bread. They weren't perfect, but at least I improved, lol.

Note: All are experimental and first time, so expect the unexpected 🀣

Bun Stuffed With Ham And Cheese/Cinnamon Bread

Ingredients:

IMG_20220310_223740.jpg

  • 200 grams Bread Flour
  • 1 1/2 tsp. Yeast
  • 1/2 tsp. Salt
  • 1 tsp. Sugar
  • 1 tbsp. Vegetable Oil
  • 130-150 ml. Water
  • Banana (for banana bread later)
  • Ham, cheese, raisins for bun filling
  • Cinnamon powder

You can choose any kind of ingredients you want as bread fillings. You can put corned beef, minced pork, mixed veggies, etc. Or any food available in your kitchen that is suitable as bun filling. You don't have to spend a lot on making bread. It actually costs a few pennies only.

Procedures:

Picsart_22-03-10_23-23-39-419.jpg

  • Sift the flour into a big bowl and mix it with the yeast, sugar, and salt.
  • Make a hole in the center, add the oil, and gradually add water.
  • Mix the ingredients and knead to make a dough.
  • Place the dough inside a bowl and cover with a cloth or plastic wrapper.
  • Leave for about 20-30 minutes.

After 20 minutes, we started kneading the dough. ​The kneading was just actually easy but I thought it was hard. Although it needs more effort and time, the product would be worth it.

It's kneading time!

Picsart_22-03-11_08-13-19-522.jpg

  • Dust the kneading board with some flour so the dough won't stick into it.
  • Knead to make the dough smooth, soft, elastic, and distribute yeast evenly.
  • Then cut it into two, one for a cinnamon roll and the other half for stuffed buns.
  • For stuffed buns: knead the dough and form small circle-shaped doughs and flatten them using roller knead.
  • For cinnamon bread: knead the dough again and use a wood roller knead to flatten the dough. Cut the edges to make a rectangular shape according to your size preference.

It's stuffing time!

Picsart_22-03-11_09-09-34-442.jpg

  • For stuffed buns: stuff the circular-shaped dough with ham and cheese, then roll it into a ball. Using a scissor, make a cross cut on top, open the cut portion, and stuff it again with cheese.
  • For cinnamon bread: mix the raisins with cinnamon powder. Brush the flattened rectangular-shaped dough with water and spread the fillings onto it. Carefully roll the dough, then cut it into three.

It's baking time!

They look like these. You can cover them for a while to let the dough rise more. But since we were excited to bake it, we escaped that procedure and proceeded to baking.

Picsart_22-03-11_09-21-09-571.jpg

  • Bake them for 20 minutes in a pre-heated oven.

The finished product!!

IMG_20220311_093542.jpg


No-knead Banana Bread Became A Pudding

While waiting for the dough to rise, we opted to make the banana bread. It was supposed to be a banana cake, but then we found out that we have no baking powder and baking soda. So we just made banana bread. But wait! The result was different, lol.

The ingredients are so simple, it only includes:

  • 1 ripe Banana
  • 1 cup Soft Flour (baking or all-purpose flour)
  • 1 pc. Large Egg
  • 40 grams Butter
  • 2 tbsp. Sugar
  • 2 tbsp. Fresh Milk

The procedures were just so easy as well. All you need to do is:

Picsart_22-03-10_22-59-52-262.jpg

  • Put all ingredients in one bowl, the melted butter, banana, egg, milk, and sugar.
  • Sift the flour into the bowl, then mix all ingredients until the banana is finely smashed.
  • Put the batter into a baking pan and add some toppings such as raisins and cinnamon. (You can add nuts too if you have)
  • Bake it for 15 minutes in a pre-heated oven.

Since we have no baking pan, I made an improvised one using tin foil, haha. A trying-hard baker with no baking materials and only have a small oven at home, lol, so we have to make an improvised one.

And here's the result, taddaaa!!

Picsart_22-03-11_07-59-42-622.jpg

​The banana bread became a pudding, lol. It was yummy though. And I can really taste the butter and banana. I love the raisins and cinnamon toppings too.


The finished product wasn't perfect but the taste was good. The cinnamon bread wasn't the same as our expectation, but at least we have made it, lol. I like the stuffed bun too, and the combination of ham and cheese was perfect. Meanwhile, the banana bread which turned into pudding has a perfect taste for me 😁.

Picsart_22-03-11_10-05-32-092.jpg

You guys should try this 😁.

Thanks for reading. And see you next time.

​

20220311_130001_0000.png

Follow me on:

β€’HIVE β€’read.cash β€’noise.cash β€’Twitter β€’Publish0x β€’Torum

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
16 Comments
Ecency