#HKCNYDay3: Spending Lai Si at Genki Sushi

29th January 2023

The CNY Celebration didn't end yet, and I'm down to the 3rd day of the Chinese New Year. I shared about Day 1 the other day and it was spent in Tsim Sha Tsui. My day 2 of CNY was spent at work (requested by my boss), so it was a little tiring and I have no blog for it. You can read this travel blog below anout the 1st day of CNY.

#HKCNYDay1: Spending 1st Day Of Lunar New Year at Tsim Sha Tsui

Or watch it here:


Part of CNY is giving and receiving Lai Si or red pockets. I did receive some from my bosses and @ifarmgirl was right, haha. I even got an additional from their visitor.

IMG_20230125_122952.jpg

Thinking about how to spend Lai Si, the first thing that came to mind was food! Who doesn't like it anyway? I recently told @wittyzell in her sushi food blog that I want to have one soon too. And Japanese Genki sushi was the first on my list. The restaurant is just nearby so why not go there?

IMG_20230124_131836.jpg

#HKCNYDay3: Spending Lai Si at Genki Sushi

20230127_191845_0000.png


Without hesitation, I entered the place and was informed of my seat number. Since it was lunchtime, people started coming. Glad I found a better seat before the line got occupied by customers.

IMG_20230124_121218.jpg

My favorite part of Genki Sushi is the express train used in serving food. Unfortunately, the lane where I was seated was under maintenance and it only went back to service later that afternoon. That was when I was already having my desserts.

IMG_20230124_131540.jpg

After placing my orders online, they were served manually one by one by the staff. I waited until all were served so I could capture them all in one photo. Here's the complete set of my orders.

IMG_20230124_123122.jpg

I'm not really a fan of raw sushi, but I do like going to Genki as I like their other food, like desserts, appetizers, snacks, noodles, and others.

Let's break down this set of food.

Salmon with cucumber and red onions
Salmon is always my first choice when eating sushi. I do love tuna sometimes, but I only opted to choose two kinds that day for some reason. The sushi was topped with avocado and red onion and I like the complement of the flavors. It tasted well with the sauce which I guess was mayonnaise.

IMG_20230124_123146.jpg

Handroll shrimp sushi with avocado

This was the other kind of sushi I ordered. The handroll sushi is wrapped in roasted seaweed, with rice, shrimp, and avocado filling. You may wonder why I ordered sushis with avocado, pretty simple, I am a fan of this fruit but it's too expensive to buy it in the market, lol.

IMG_20230124_123151.jpg

Osaka Takoyaki

You probably are familiar with this food, it's takoyaki or squid balls. It's a famous Japanese street food. I am not sure though if takoyaki in Japan is served like this, but the takoyaki in Genki is topped with pork floss and seaweed strips.

IMG_20230124_123209.jpg

Udon noodles with chikuwa

Udon is my favorite kind of noodle and I like the soup in Genki so I always order one when eating there. This one was served with chikuwa or a kind of fish cake. I thought it was an imitated octopus or crab, but when I searched the meaning of chikuwa, it means fish cake. You can't see it in the photo as it was at the bottom, lol.

IMG_20230124_123213.jpg

Cheesecake Brulee with lemon caramel

I thought it was orange as the one on the menu says orange, but when it was served, it was actually lemon. I like this dessert as it tasted so good. It was cold and soft and seemed like it was mixed with gelatin. So it tasted similar to gelato.

IMG_20230124_123202.jpg

I was full after eating my orders but I opted to order one more to capture the express train since it was working. Besides, I was curious about the mochi pancake I saw on the menu.

Mochi pancake with custard filling

This mochi was so soft from the inside and chewy outside like a marshmallow. The custard filling was not too sweet and I liked it. The Genki design on top is cute, isn't it?

IMG_20230124_130711.jpg

In the end, I paid HK$116.6, or almost US$15 including the service charge. I was actually expecting to pay HK$130+ so I was surprised by the amount.

IMG_20230124_131934.jpg

I thought there was a discount or something since it was CNY so I didn't mind. While writing this article and checking the receipt, I found out that the salmon sushi wasn't included in the receipt. I remembered I requested to cancel that order, but since they already prepared it, I decided not to. It was even served shortly. I never thought that they canceled it in the system, so it wasn't my fault anymore šŸ˜…. Anyway, that only cost HK$17.


After spending a red pocket in food tripping, I spent another one in winter clothes shopping at Prince Edward and Central.

Picsart_23-01-25_21-08-47-455.jpg

So that's where I spent the two red pockets. I still have two remaining red pockets, and you'll find out where I spent them soon.

Thanks for reading šŸ˜Š.

You can also reach me on my socials and let's be connected:

ā€¢Facebook
ā€¢YouTube
ā€¢read.cash ā€¢noise.app
ā€¢Twitter

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
17 Comments
Ecency