My birthday lunch at Sukiya Beef Bowl

I am 43!

Age is catching up, I am thankful to be healthy and well thus far.

Birthday Lunch at Gyudon!

Recently, I kept craving beef bulgogi kind of taste. The last I ate Suyika's Beef Bowl was the one husband bought from airport. I remembered that night, I prayed, "God, I pray for a Sukiya Beef Bowl nearby my place."

Lo and behold, one day, husband texted me saying Suyika's Beef Bowl had its grand opening at Setapak Central. I was beyond shocking, my answered prayer just in two weeks. So, I had placed order that I wanted to eat here on 1st of May, my birthday.

Sukiya - Japan's No. 1 Beef Bowl

I still have no chance to visit Japan yet for its cherry blossom, one of my favourite flower and it's pink colour of course, so let's experience Gyudon first!

I chose this place because it was next to cherry blossom, yay! And we were seated to a table of seniors whom we got to communicate a bit, because they saw me taking photos, hence they also asked us to help them take a photo of them for memories. We could tell they simply enjoying growing old together and savour every moment, even held hands to pray together before eating.

Ambience

Super love the ambience here, clean, neat and cosy. Love the wooden concept, like the Muji minimalistic style.

One side with spring cherry blossom, another side with autumn orangey yellow leaves. So cool!

Menu

This restaurant serves their famous gyudon using true Aussie beef, cooked to perfection. Besides gyudon, they also have yakiniku-don, chicken katsu Don, teriyaki don, and unagi Don. It also serves ramen. So, it suits young and old to be impressed.

Food we ordered

I only came for gyudon, so we ordered a Large Gyudon to be shared with husband. The boys also wanted gyudon but the new one which came with three types of melted cheese on top.

The gyudon was really delicious, with good amount of beef and also good amount of rice, just enough for two.

The melted cheese was really superb. The boys non-stop commenting how delicious it was. Of course, paired with the beef, bombastic!

We added sides like miso soup, dunplings and chawanmushi at promotional price.

The match latte and milk tea also at promotional price, we grabbed that too.

Usually, gyudon was eaten with pickled chilli and sourish green chillies but I didn't try it because I wanted to taste the authentic beef taste. So so delicious!

Halfway eating, my brother and family came in to say 'Hi' to us, also to greet me 'Happy birthday', knowing we were there.

We had great time eating here, just thankful for life, myself and life around us. We also met a friend halfway eating, and we chatted with the friend awhile while playing Pokemon Go with him awhile too.

After gyudon, we walked around the mall, grabbed some egg tarts from Memorie Tarts for in-laws since we would be visiting new baby later at their house. The egg tarts were so pleasant to the palette, not too sweet, a good crust and a good egg custard in it.

Husband asked me whether I wanted some donuts or drinks, but no, I was full. Something else grabbed my attention, so I asked them to stand next to the poster, haha! Do you get it? Lol...

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now