Baking a Milky Creamy Potatoes!

I was on top of the world when Jansen remarked that he was hungry and felt like eating something. On day 7th of Jansen's partial bowel obstruction, he said he felt less pain and wanted to try to drink water from mouth, I knew immediately he would be alright soon. A sudden surge of new strength came upon me, and I quickly decided to bake a creamy milky potatoes for him.

In the past, I would bake potato gratin but I noticed it could be a little too heavy and creamy for his internal system. So I changed a little from potatoes gratin to just a simple milk potato bake! I wasn't sure what would be the outcome, as all was by instinct and not following any professional recipe. LET'S!

Milky potato bake!

It was rather an easy and quick preparation for this dish.

Steps

Firstly, I sliced the potato as thin as I could, I used 4 potatoes. Then, I usually soaked them in water to reduce the starch. After 5 minutes, drained the water.

Next, in a hot pan, I added in one tablespoon of butter and one tablespoon of garlic oil. The garlic oil was given by my sister-in-law whose husband had premade it by using food processor to mince the garlic beautiful, then infused them in oil.

When they melted and incorporated with each other, I added in 250ml of fresh milk, followed by a dash of salt and pepper.

I suddenly remembered that I forgot about flour, so I quickly added in one tablespoon of flour, to thicken the sauce.

After that, I added in all the sliced potatoes into pan, stirred them and ensure all the potatoes were somewhat soaked in the sauce. Then, I left them soaked for 15 minutes, while I went to preheat the oven.

I roughly sectioned the potatoes in the pan to half. And then I placed one layer of the potatoes on a baking pan (half of all of them). This time, I did not really arrange those potatoes nicely as how I would when I baked potato gratin.

After the first layer of potatoes, I decided to add a thin layer of cheese. Cheese always went well with baked potatoes.

Next, added in the remaining potatoes from the pan to the last later, and poured in all the sauce too. By this time, I noticed the whole potatoes dish was too flooded with the milk sauce. But, I went ahead with it and did not make any changes since Jansen supposed to eat something soft and more watery for the recovery process.

Put this to bake in the oven for 60 minutes at 180°C.

Baking, baking, baking....

One hour later...

Just look at this dish of milky baked potatoes. Even the whole house smelled so nice. Jansen already came few times to the kitchen to take a peek. We enjoyed seeing him walk again, being jovial again. And couldn't wait to see him eat.

It was a super successful milky creamy baked potatoes, everyone loved it including myself who seldom ate too creamy cheesy food. The potatoes was soft, yet you still could bite the texture of potatoes, buttery, milky and flavorful with a tinge of cheese at the center just made the whole experience of eating fantastic! This dish lasted us for three days. My husband and I only tried a bit because we wanted the boys to get to eat more. No regret baking this!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency