SHARING MY INGREDIENTS AND PROCEDURE OF THE CORDON BLEU

How did I know this recipe?

Olive Green and White New Arrival Round Shaped Photo Instagram Post.png

I've known this recipe since I was in college, because my Mom is always busy with work. I was in charge of cooking every day. But, of course, it was my mother who first taught me; she told me to cook Cordon Bleu during Fiesta and I was hesitant because I wasn't familiar with it. Fortunately, my mother was present to guide me. I was fortunate in that I was able to quickly recall the dish's ingredients and preparation method. So whenever we had gatherings, my Mom would always ask me to make Cordon bleu or sometimes Embutido, which is also a dish I learned from my mother.

Even my friends occasionally ask me to cook for them on their special day,because they are aware that I am a kitchen bum and how I add love to the dishes I made.

So, last Sunday I decided to cook Cordon Bleu for our dinner. But for some reason I was intrigued why this menu called it's name, so I did a quick research for it.

So, Cordon bleu translates to blue ribbon in English. According to the Larousse Gastronomique cordon bleu "was originally a wide blue ribbon worn by members of Henri III of France's highest order of knighthood, L'Ordre des chevaliers du Saint-Esprit, established in 1578. By extension, the term has come to refer to food prepared to an exceptionally high standard by exceptional chefs. The analogy was most likely inspired by the resemblance between the sashes worn by knights and the ribbons (usually blue) of a cook's apron."

This dish was first mentioned in a cookbook in 1949 as a schnitzel (a thin slice of meat fried in fat) filled with cheese from Brig, Switzerland. The term "chicken cordon bleu" first appeared in The New York Times in 1967,which has the sister version of a "veal cordon bleu" appearing in 1955.

You can check my source in this link


Thanks to the Advance Technology for providing history of this dish. 😁
Now, I wanna share with you how I prepare the ingredients and the procedure.
Ingredients :
Prepare for the chicken roll

  • 8 pcs. breast part boneless chicken
  • 8 pcs. ham (any kind)
  • thin slices of mozzarella cheese
  • thin slices of red bell pepper

Breading Ingredients

  • 2 cups all purpose flour
  • 2 1/2 cups bread crumbs
  • 2 eggs
  • a pinch of salt and
  • 1 tsp pepper
  • optional, you can add other herbs to the breading like basil, parsley etc...

Procedure:

  1. Slice the chicken boneless meat into a butterfly cut. The thinner the better.
  2. Prepare the ham, cheese & bell pepper in a flat surfac, such as plate or cutting board.
  3. Flat in the chicken, add to the top the ham, cheese & 2 strips of red bell pepper. And,
  4. Roll the chicken meat and seal it with surround wrap by rolling over it or you can also use thin string or tooth pick to seal the cordon bleu.
  5. Place it set on the fridge for an hour to keep it intact.

For the Breading

  1. Put the flour on a deep bowl then, add salt and pepper to it. Set aside.
  2. Beat to 2 large eggs.
  3. Put the bread crumbs in a separate bowl.

IMG_20211009_160158.jpg

IMG_20211009_160214.jpg

IMG_20211009_162315.jpg

IMG_20211009_160211.jpg


After an hour:

  • Remove the cordon bleu from tge fridge and take off the surround wrap one by one. See to it that they are intact.
  • Roll the chicken in to the flour and next deep it into the egg and lastly roll it in the bread crumbs.
    You can also roll it twice to the flour and do the same procedure to make it thicker and crunchier.

Done on breading the chicken roll.

  • Prepare and pre heat the pan, pour the oil while it's not too hot. The level of the oil must be halfway of the chicken.
  • Then, after pre heating, you deep fry the cordon bleu and adjust the fire to make sure that it will not be burn.
  • When it is golden brown in color it's the perfect time to flip itto the other side.
  • Then, make sure that the cheese is melting because it the sign that the inside is already cooked.
  • And when it's done frying. Let us make the Sauces. You can try any of it.

Olive Green and White New Arrival Round Shaped Photo Instagram Post.gif

Creamy Sauce:

  • Mayo
  • Regular Yogurt not flavoured
  • pickled relish
  • mustard
  • pepper & salt
Just mix them all together. And it's ready to serve. The amount of each ingredients is your choice to use.

Olive Green and White New Arrival Round Shaped Photo Instagram Post (2).gif

Buttery Sauce

  • Melted unsalted butter
  • parmesan cheese
  • all purpose flour
  • salt & pepper
Melt first the butter in a pan and pour the parmesan cheese.

Melt the all purpose flour with a warm water and pour it into the pan, Mix them together, add the pepper and salt. Done! ready to serve.

After making the sauces, slice the cordon bleu with your preferred size. It can be thick or thin, then place it with white plate, I suggests then, serve! with side sauces. Tada! all done.

Though it's not just easy, coz it takes time and lot of procedure. I can say it's still easy coz I love what I do. As long it makes me happy I will made it!.

So long, Hivers, that's all for today. See you on my next food blog!

Take care! ❤️

DSCF9943.JPG

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
23 Comments
Ecency