A popular dish in Nigeria(Africa) you can't miss: "Akara"

There is a popular food in my country called "Akara" which is so known as "Bean cake". Akara is most served for a different reason because it is a food that passes a message. But in this modern world, people eat it anywhere.

It can be purchased at the roadside from Akara vendors or can be made at home.

Before I explain the process of how to make Akara, I would like to share the importance of Akara in my culture. Akara is a special food that is served at a gathering and is used for remembrance. What is remembrance? Remembrance in my culture is a set-aside date that people use to celebrate a lost (dead) one. When an elderly person dies, after a year of departure it is compulsory to do remembrance for such a person and this is mostly done by the children or grandchildren of the deceased. The special food to be made on that day is " Akara"

How to make Akara

As I said, in the modern day, one can get Akara anywhere or even make it at home. Recently, my mom made this delicious food and I decided to share the making process with you all.

  1. Akara is made from brown beans. You have to soak your beans in a bowl and wash away the peels from the bean itself, after you have done that, the bean color would become white.

  1. You add some pepper and Onion. After you have added the pepper you want to your satisfaction, then you blend it to a level that makes it into a paste.

Bakers in the building would understand

Note: some people prefer lots of pepper while others don't, it depends on how much pepper you can take but I would advise you to use a little.

  1. After your beans are in paste form, put a pan on the gas cooker and add vegetable oil. There are various kinds of oil, any vegetable oil would work but I would advise you to avoid using Red oil.

Note: Recently, Akara is now made with red oil, all food has a way to evolve.

When your oil is hot enough, you can now put the paste into the hot oil with a spoon so a good shape of Akara can be formed.

  1. Make sure the paste is well-fried. In a short time, you would have your Akara a.k.a bean-cake.

Akara can be eaten in various ways. You can either eat your Akara with Bread, or with Garri, or with Pap.


This is a picture of Pap is that isn't served yet. I should have taken a picture of my served food but I guess I was too impatient because I wanted to eatπŸ˜‹πŸ˜‹πŸ˜€

Most time, I prefer eating mine with Pap. Homemade Pap is always the best.

Thanks for having me. All pictures used are mine.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
10 Comments
Ecency