MY BIRTHDAY DINNER

Happy Friday all you #foodies out there in #hive land.

I recently celebrated my 66th birthday. It was a very special day that was thoughtfully planned by @thebigsweed. To be honest, my hubby and I don't make a big fuss on our birthdays. We always have parties for the kids but us old timers would probably rather just skip it.

Not this year. As you can see, my "cake" was a big block of wood, decorated, then topped off with absolutely yummy cookies and cakes from a French bakery in the city of Norwich, NY. Amazing little bakery that can send you to the moon with just the sights and smells as soon as you step inside.

IMG_4199.JPG

At the end of the summer harvest we pick the last of the tomatoes, even if they are still green. In fact, I look forward to the green ones, they are wonderful fried but I found that baking them on parchment paper on a high heat of 400 degrees works just as well with less calories from frying in oil.
I have also cooked them in my air fryer, which is also another way of having that nice crunch on your tomatoes.

IMG_4483.JPG

The recipe I use is very simple, after slicing the tomatoes, I cover them with flour, dip in egg then cover them in cornmeal. Once placed on the baking tray, I drizzle with some olive oil.

Now since it was my actual birthday all I did was give the hubby instructions, he did all the cooking. What a guy. He loves to eat and now in our retirement, he's learning to cook.

IMG_4484.JPG

Pan seared swordfish was on the menu.

A little coconut oil was heated to a nice high temperature and then the fish was placed in the pan, sizzle, sizzle, now some drizzle, of lime juice that is.

IMG_4487.JPG

Once a sear really got going, I/he 😅 used a big squeeze of pink grapefruit over the fish. YUM!

IMG_4488.JPG

Pan searing really keeps the fish moist, as it only takes about 4 minutes per side to cook this nice thick swordfish steak.

IMG_4489.JPG

With fresh cabbage from the garden, the sweed made a side of coleslaw. I think coleslaw is the perfect side dish for fresh fish.

IMG_4486.JPG

Pan seared swordfish, fried green tomatoes with a dollop of homemade sauce and a side of coleslaw...WOW. gastronomical!

IMG_4490 2.JPG

After a full throated "Happy Birthday to you", you know the song,
we dove into those pastries.

IMG_4201.JPG

What a wonderful day it was...truly a Happy Birthday!

Have a great weekend all you funky #foodfightfriday friends, stay cool in those HOT kitchens.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
14 Comments
Ecency