BISS OF MAY 2021 A SANDWICH LOVER'S DELIGHT.

Growing up I can remember my mom making lunches in the early morning for my entire family, which numbered 8, which included my dad. We all had our own unique lunch pail as we called it then, each sandwich was made to order. My favorite was egg salad. The little kids had peanut butter and jelly or honey, my sister Crissy was the only one that opted for honey. My brothers went for the salami, baloney or liverwurst, some with cheese, some without. But my dad was a steady customer of ham and swiss cheese with mustard. .

So In fond memory of my father, I give you," DAD'S DELIGHT ", ham and cheese with mustard.

img_9787.jpg

Now this is a jazzed up version, to create some interest, I mean who wants a plain ole ham and cheese, right? Well, I have to tell you, my dad liked routine . Wore the same type of work pants for 50 years, always bought the best boots, "Your feet are so important", he would say, "gotta have a good fit". "Time is money"," good boots can keep you going." He was so right. That man worked from dawn to dark, and then some. He started his own paving business at the age of 19. He partnered with his future brother-in-law and built a million dollar business. By the time he was 32, he and mom started traveling, leaving his children in the care of his mother. Oh ,they wouldn't be gone long, but looking back, he did it the best. Gone for just a few weeks here and there, but always 1st class. He wanted to treat my mom like the queen she was.

Within a ten year period of time they had traveled all over the world. As a child, I thought it was great because my grandma would bake the best deserts you have ever tasted. Everything she made was from scratch, real butter, pure flour and lots of love.

Here's how I took an oldie but a goody and made it my own.

Adding some red peppers ,shallots, basil, pesto, sweet honey mustard and tomatoes to that honey ham and swiss cheese 🧀 , Oh So Good.

img_9780_1_.jpg

Using a Sara Lee "Artesano" bakery bun, with no artificial colors, flavors, or high fructose corn syrup, I felt confident this would be a great sandwich to build.

img_9781.jpg

Yes, I am going for the grilling, panini style. I just love the melted cheese and the crunch when I take that first bite.

Let's build my"Dad's Delight"

img_9783.jpg

Since I am the paver , the constructioneer, I will leave you all drooling, at least I hope so.

img_9784.jpg

Time to grill...

img_9786.jpg

Sorry for the blurry photo, but it was time to eat and I couldn't control myself, this sandwich was going to blow me away, I just could not stop the gastronomical response.

OMG, WHAT A BITE OF THE MONTH!

A big thank you to @mondoshawan for keeping the party going.

To all you #foodies out there, join the party.

Sending hugs and napkins, you are gonna need them for my "best bite of the month.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
14 Comments
Ecency