MY SOURDOUGH HAS DIED?// MI MASA MADRE HA MUERTO??? [En/Sp]

Mi publicación.jpeg



HIve the, hello everyone!!!!

I'm back this week, after two months of visiting my hometown. Last Monday I arrived in Cordoba, where I plan to live until the end of the year.

I recently published a post showing you how I made my MASA MADRE BREAD. There I mentioned that I take my sourdough with me wherever I go if I'm spending more than a weekend. Naturally, I took my sourdough with me to Catamarca, and when I got back to Córdoba I noticed that I had left it forgotten in my mother's fridge.
Fortunately, and since I am obsessed with it, before leaving on vacation I foresaw this possibility and left some leftover sourdough resting in the fridge.

Two months have passed since I left my apartment in Córdoba, and this is what today's post is about:

♦️ You left your sourdough dormant in the fridge for too long... can it be recovered?
♦️ It has a suspicious black liquid covering it, did it spoil?

ESPEsta semana volví, luego de dos meses de visita en mi ciudad natal. El lunes pasado llegué a Córdoba, donde tengo planeado vivir hasta fin de año.

Recientemente publiqué un post enseñandoles mi elaboración de PANES DE MASA MADRE. Ahí les mencioné que llevo mi masa madre conmigo a donde vaya si voy a pasar más de un fin de semana. Naturalmente, llevé conmigo mi masa madre a Catamarca, y al llegar de vuelta a Córdoba noté que la había dejado olvidada en la heladera de mi madre.
Afortunadamente, y como estoy obsesionada con ella, antes de irme de vacaciones preví esta posibilidad y dejé un resto de masa madre descansando en la heladera.

Desde que dejé mi departamento en Córdoba han pasado dos meses, y de esto va el post de hoy:

♦️ Dejaste tu masa madre inactiva en la heladera por mucho tiempo… se puede recuperar?
♦️ Tiene un líquido sospechoso de color negro que la cubre, se echó a perder?


Sourdough is a colony of highly resistant bacteria, believe it or not that black liquid that covers it serves as protection isolating it from the vacuum of the rest of the jar, so if your sourdough looks like in these pictures... relax!!! it is protected and anxiously waiting for its food to reactivate.

IF YOU GOT THIS FAR AND YOU STILL HAVE NO IDEA HOW TO MAKE YOUR SOURDOUGH, I RECOMMEND YOU TO SEE THIS POST I SHARED SOME TIME AGO.

ESPLa masa madre es una colonia de bacterias altamente resistentes, aunque no lo creas ese líquido negro que la cubre le sirve de protección aislandola del vacio del resto del frasco, así es que si tu masa madre se ve como en estas imagenes… tranquilo!!! ella está protegida esperando ansiosa su alimento para reactivar.

SI LLEGASTE HASTA AQUI Y AUN NO TIENES IDEA DE COMO HACER TU MASA MADRE, TE RECOMIENDO QUE VEAS ESTE POST QUE COMPARTI HACE YA ALGUN TIEMPO ATRAS.


Now then... what should I do to recover my sourdough?

Basically you just discard the black liquid, remove the top of the sourdough and look for a teaspoon of the bottom that will still be soft and white.

Depending on how long it has been resting, our sourdough will have gained acidity, so we will have to feed it several times to balance it and in my case, to multiply it.

ESPAhora bien… qué debo hacer para recuperar mi masa madre?

Básicamente sólo debes desechar el líquido negro, quitar la parte superior de la masa madre y buscar una cucharadita del fondo que aún estará tiersa y blanca.

Dependiendo del tiempo que lleve en reposo, nuestra masa madre habrá ganado acidéz, por lo que deberemos alimentarla varias veces para que se equilibre y en mi caso, para que se multiplique.

IMG_5440.JPG

IMG_5441.JPG


You will see that it is a matter of a few days.
Here you can see the small spoonful with which I recovered my sourdough by adding a spoonful of flour (this time I only had whole wheat flour so that's what I used) and a spoonful of water.

ESPVerás que es cuestión de pocos días.
Aquí pueden ver la pequeña cucharada con la que recuperé mi masa madre agregándole una cucharada de harina (estavez sólo tenia integral así que es la que usé) y una cucharada de agua.

IMG_5442.JPG

IMG_5444.JPG

IMG_5447.JPG


The next day I could already see activity in it. Can you see the little bubbles? It is alive!!!

ESPAl día siguiente ya podía ver actividad en ella. Alcanzan a ver las pequeñas burbujas? Está viva!!!

IMG_5448.JPG


After two days of feeding her every 12 hours she has multiplied a lot and is full of activity.
I will get to work to share with you. 🙌 ✨

ESPAl cabo de dos días alimentándola cada 12 horas se mnultiplicó bastante y esta llena de actividad.
Pondré manos a la obra para compartirles otra receta con este maravilloso fermento. 🙌 ✨

IMG_5449.JPG

IMG_5455.JPG

IMG_5463.JPG

IMG_5465.JPG


WHEN IS MY SOURDOUGH DEAD?

It should never happen, but...

⭕️ If you leave it for more than 24 hours at room temperature without feeding it. The more time it spends at room temperature without food, the more risk it has to die.

⭕️ If the jar or the elements we use are contaminated. In this case it will not take long to form fungus and bad smell.

Sourdough can smell of alcohol, beer, yogurt, maybe cheese, even acetone... these are the aromas associated with fermentation and it is normal.
If you smell a foul, garbage or rotten smell, there is no turning back. So take care of your sourdough, if you see that you will not use it or it will be difficult for you to be attentive to its feeding better leave it in the refrigerator, there it will rest quietly until you need it again.


ESPCUANDO SI ESTA MUERTA MI MASA MADRE?

No debería pasar nunca, pero...

⭕️ Si la dejas más de 24 horas a temperatura ambiente sin alimentar. Cuanto más tiempo pase a temperatura ambiente sin alimento más riesgo tiene a morir.
⭕️ Si el frasco o lo elementos que utilizamos están contaminados. En este caso no tardará en formar hongos y mal olor.

La masa madre puede oler a alcohol, a cerveza, a yogur, quizás a queso, incluso a acetona… son los aromas asociados a la fermentación y es lo normal.
Si sientes un olor nauseabundo, a basura o a podrido no tiene vuelta atras. Así es que atiende tu masa madre, si ves que no la usarás o te costará estar atento a su alimentación mejor déjala en la heladera, allí descansará tranquila hasta que vuelvas a necesitarla.
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency