APPAM - The Coconut Milk Rice Pancake

There's this restaurant right opposite of my office, called the JAYA. Not exactly sure who Jaya is, but the area of that office is located at Petaling Jaya. So, it could be just a person's name, or it's the location.

image.png

Due to the recent lockdown, I weren't able to go back to office that often. I know there's another Indian shop near my house, but they don't serve Appam with coconut milk. Sometimes they do make Appam, but they rather serve with curry. And for your information, I don't like spicy stuff in the morning. I need something sweet, plain and warm to go down before I start the day. In Jaya restaurant, they provide fresh coconut milk every morning, so I'm much more comfortable ordering APPAM there in the morning.

image.png

So, my boss requested me to go back office to work, since many is taking day off, and I had to chance to visit the Jaya restaurant. There's a range of food at the counter, the white color pancake is the one I'm telling you about, It's made of fermented rice, very soft and warm. Can't go wrong with it.

image.png

I ordered two pieces from them, whilst waiting for them to prepare me a set of fresh appams, I decided to order take away Masala Tea. If you haven't try this wicked milk tea, better. Super creamy despite being held in plastic bags. Oh one more thing to take note, it's very common here to drink from plastic bags. Trust me, we tend to forget. I'll try to make an effort to bring my own flask.

image.png

Due to the lockdown, no dine in allowed, so I had to make it takeout. The two seems like having different degree of frying time. The top one is soft and nice, but the bottom crunchy version is not bad either! I actually like both! Oh don't mention it, the packaging paper. Yes, my country does that all the time. Yes, I will make an effort to bring my own container.

image.png

Traditionally, we eat with bear hand. Do note that, need to use right hand. Why right hand? Errm.... according to my parents, and according to their parents, and apparently according to my grandparent's friends, left hand are meant for ass wiping. I'll tell you why next time, but now let's focus on the food, than the ass. So yeah, use your right hand(they didn't know I'm a left hander eh, which means I'm using my ass wiping hand to eat now).

image.png

Peel off a piece and dip it in the coconut milk, super nice, super refreshing! As if suddenly I can hear the wave blasting through the beach on the golden sand.

image.png

I know I'm not supposed to drink the balance of the coconut milk, but who is there to stop me? This is only a typical coconut milk. But from what I heard, some of the shops even use a fermented coconut milk. You don't wanna know how crazy coconut wine is, and I'm now image if there really is, I'd like to try Appam with coconut WINE instead!

Added: Need to add @justinparke since he said he likes to see our APPAM here. LOL

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
11 Comments
Ecency