Spent the day at my auntie's place and enjoyed some classic Moroccan food on a beautiful sunny Saturday!

Today my husband had some reservations for lunch at his restaurant, so he had to go to work earlier than usual!

And as it was quite a nice sunny day today, i decided to go with him together with the kids and asked him to drop us at my auntie's place - who actually lives near where my husband works!

When we reached there, my daughter Rheem decided to stay with her dad and my son Omar went with me at my aunt's place! Once we were there...it was playing time for Omar!

IMG_20210731_225150.jpg


My aunt was married to a Mauritian too but unfortunately her husband passed away couple of years back. Now she lives alone and from time to time I go to her place to give her little company!

Each time I go to her place...we always get to the kitchen and prepare some classic Moroccan foods that we miss so much from our country!

Rfissa - A classic Moroccan Chicken and lentils dish!

Not everyone will like rfissa, that's for sure, but we Moroccans...we just love it!

It is basically chicken cooked with lentils with some special spices and served on top of shredded Moroccan flat bread!!!

IMG_20210731_225228.jpg

I have shared the recipe of 'rfissa' on my blog in the past - If you want, you can check it out by doing a simple search.


Moroccan Beignet!

Once lunch was over...we then prepared the dough to make Moroccan Beignet - again something we just love!!!

IMG_20210731_225254.jpg
Our beignet ready to be fried!

I already shared this recipe too...Maybe I have to re-make some of these types of recipes and share on my blog once again as we have a lot of new users these days! I'll think about it!

IMG_20210731_225402.jpg


By the time we were chatting and preparing the beignet dough...it was already time to have tea...

So we started to fry our beignet, prepare Moroccan tea and set the table...

IMG_20210731_225324.jpg


Hmmm Moroccan Mint Tea is perfect with these hot beignet...I added apricot jam in my beignets! Simply delicious!

IMG_20210731_225310.jpg


It was really a nice day today and the temperature was quite nice to stay outside a little...

I went around her small green area in front of her house and took some photos of the place...My aunt has a nice passion of planting veggies, herbs, flowers and fruits!

IMG_20210731_225504.jpg


I was so happy to see how her lemongrass plant has grown up so nicely - Next time I'll need some in my dish...i'll ask her to send me some!

IMG_20210731_225523.jpg


IMG_20210731_225543.jpg


This one is among my favorite green leaves that I love eating! It is the plant of Chayote! The leaves as well as the vegetable is so yummy!

IMG_20210731_225610.jpg


When my husband completed his day at his work, he came to pick us up and here we are now...back at home!

Time to relax now and be ready for sweet Sunday!

Happy Weekend my friends!
Have a great one!
@creativewoman

hive  (11).gif

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency