Instant Risotto, Nuggets, Orange Juice, and homemade “BBQ” sauce for lunch.

Hello everyone! today I decided to document when I was making lunch, and I will share it with you all now step by step.

P1070723.JPG

I wanted to prepare something fast because I did not have too much time because of my job, but at the same time, I was craving something tasty and good, so as usual I put to use my creativity and made a dish that I can say with pride that it was delicious.

I went to the market today to make groceries, and then I saw these types of instant risotto boxes, and I got curious about it and decided to give it a try. I also bought some nuggets, and also corn.

P1070682.JPG

The first thing that I did was to peel the corn and cut it in half, then I placed it on a pot with water, and took it to the stove on medium flame.

P1070683.JPG

P1070685.JPG

While the corn was in boiling water, I followed the instructions from the box of instant risotto, and put 850 ml of water on a pot, and next added the two packets that it contained, first the flavor and then the rice. As it was written I also added some butter to make it more creamy. I turned up the stove on high flame and once it began to boil, I lowered it to medium almost low flame, stirring it up every two or 3 minutes or so until the total of 20 minutes that it says that needs to be cooked.

P1070688.JPG

P1070692.JPG

P1070693.JPG

P1070694.JPG

P1070695.JPG

P1070697.JPG

While I was waiting for the risotto to be ready, I placed the nuggets on a pan with a little bit of oil and turned on the stove in low flame, so everything would cook simultaneously.

P1070698.JPG

P1070703.JPG

P1070711.JPG

Once the corn, the nuggets, and the risotto were ready, I decided to prepare some orange juice because I had a lot of oranges from a very cheap fruit box I bought at the beginning of the week, and it contained like 2 kgs of oranges. I prepare the orange juice by peeling the orange whole, and once I take all the skin out (I keep it for infusions, flavoring desserts) I place them on the blender and add water, and after this, I strain the juice from all the fiber that it contains. I know, fiber is the most important part of the fruit and the rest is sugar but I don’t enjoy my orange juice when it is so full of those tiny solid parts of the fruit.

P1070699.JPG

P1070700.JPG

P1070701.JPG

P1070702.JPG

P1070708.JPG

P1070709.JPG

I could have stopped there, but then I kept thinking that those nuggets went well with some BBQ sauce, and since I did not have any, I tried to improvise a recipe of my own. On a pan, I added some ketchup, soy sauce, butter, some drops of vinegar, black pepper, and brown sugar. I liked the result, and it blended so well with the taste of those nuggets.

P1070713.JPG

P1070714.JPG

P1070716.JPG

P1070717.JPG

P1070718.JPG

It is obvious that my meal wasn’t all healthy, many of its components were full of sodium, and most of them except the corn and the juice came from ultra-processed foods. In my defense, I don’t have lunch like these days, more like rarely, and I don’t fully recommend anybody to eat this like every day, but once in a while it doesn’t hurt to make one of these meals and the taste and the textures were nice. Usually, when I eat a meal that is so full of sodium, after that I drink lots of water and maybe fruits or infusions because that helps to compensate for one of the negative effects that sodium has on our bodies after consuming a high amount of it.

P1070719.JPG

P1070721.JPG

The risotto was nice. I had no expectations when it came to these types of instant boxes. Risottos, like many other dishes, is a very delicate and complex way to prepare a specific type of rice, and is not that easy to make, and harder for it to have a good taste and texture. Italians are experts at making risottos, Japanese people are as well. I love risotto, and I wish I had the time to prepare it more, but the truth is that it is a little bit expensive to make a good risotto, and it takes time, so I understand why these type of instant risotto boxes sell so well and I think that is a very smart product.

I hope that all of you have a good week! Thank you for reading, until next time.

P1070724.JPG

César.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency